The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Rich,

I believe the "no call" mechanic was correct in this sitch because the throw took F3 off the base and there was, therefore, no tag of 1B to rule on.

Had the throw simply been late and F3 had kept his foot on the bag, then I believe the safe mechanic is called for.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2011, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 154
Not sure this is correct. If F3's foot was on the bag but the throw had been late and the B/R reached 1st before the tag of the base, but had not touched 1st base, wouldn't you make the safe call? I think once the B/R acquired 1st, the safe call mechanic should have been given regardless of the proximity of F3.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 19, 2011, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Let's say there was exactly the same play but with R3, same two out situation. The run would still not count, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
Let's say there was exactly the same play but with R3, same two out situation. The run would still not count, correct?
What does 4.09(a)(1) say?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What does 4.09(a)(1) say?
True that. Rule 7.08(e) says the runner is out if he OR the base is tagged BEFORE he touches the base. It was confusing why Angel Hernandez did not signal out when Posada made a clear and distinct tag of first while looking at him. Things like "attained base", "relaxed action", "continuous action" are not mentioned in the rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
True that. Rule 7.08(e) says the runner is out if he OR the base is tagged BEFORE he touches the base. It was confusing why Angel Hernandez did not signal out when Posada made a clear and distinct tag of first while looking at him. Things like "attained base", "relaxed action", "continuous action" are not mentioned in the rule book.
Does every posted legal speed sign say "if you get caught exceeding this speed limit in excess of a certain amount of mph (as determined by the local authorities), then you may receive a ticket, fine, etc."

Someday or one day, or if ever the world gets perfect, were just going to have to go back and rewrite everything so it is crystal clear for everyone. Then again everything will be perfect and everyone will know everything and we won't have to.

Sometimes you just have to umpire. You should try it first and quit being a pain in the arse because you have no life.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
True that. Rule 7.08(e) says the runner is out if he OR the base is tagged BEFORE he touches the base. It was confusing why Angel Hernandez did not signal out when Posada made a clear and distinct tag of first while looking at him. Things like "attained base", "relaxed action", "continuous action" are not mentioned in the rule book.
One cannot possibly hope to learn American law if one only studies constitutions, statutes and regulations. In fact, the majority of American law is learned from judicial cases (aka "case law") which interpret the statutes, constitutions, regulations, etc.

Likewise, if one only studies the rule book one is missing all of the interpretations (official and otherwise) of those rules found in the various umpire's manuals. (see major league baseball umpire's manual (MLBUM), PBUC Manual, J/R, JEA, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 20, 2011, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
So Angel Hernandez made the proper call when he did not signal the runner who had "attained" first base but had not touched it when Posada stepped on the bag? A literal reading of the rules says a runner can be retired that way by either the "force mechanic" or an appeal. But I get your point.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 21, 2011, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Rich,

I believe the "no call" mechanic was correct in this sitch because the throw took F3 off the base and there was, therefore, no tag of 1B to rule on.

Had the throw simply been late and F3 had kept his foot on the bag, then I believe the safe mechanic is called for.

JM
If the runner misses the bases you still need to give a signal to let him know if he beat the ball or not.. so in this video Angel should have given a safe as he beat the ball/ posada didnt touch the base... and there should have been a safe , off the bag mechanic... after this the defense can appeal the runner missing the base ( better do this before he reaches 1st)..but what can I say..LOL
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 22, 2011, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
The Bobby Valentine Rule?

Apparently from ESPN, the original situation played out when Mr Bobby Valentine was a manager. AH made the correct NO call as Posada appealed from 1st base. The runner must be tagged while off base.
__________________
SAump
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dick Vitale Struck By Foul Ball At Rays-Blue Jays Game (VIDEO) SAump Baseball 0 Tue Jun 29, 2010 11:11pm
Yankees-Jays (batter hit on strikeout) Jay R Baseball 4 Tue Sep 02, 2008 01:38am
Angels-Blue Jays : Salmon interfered but not out? Peruvian Baseball 5 Wed May 17, 2006 01:10pm
Umpire dress (Jays-Rays) Jay R Baseball 13 Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:34pm
Weird play Blue Jays-Rangers Jay R Baseball 29 Thu Aug 21, 2003 10:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1