![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
5 - See, there's the problem... they DID rule interference. they DID NOT allow the play to stand. Either R1 was ruled out and BR put on first, or BR was ruled out and R1 returned to first. TV did an awful job telling us which runner was left on first base after the play, so I'm not completely sure. I THINK it was the batter. I was happy for the rally-killing out here... but the umpire in me doesn't understand how this outcome was what they came up with.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
I can't see how they could have called out R1 here under any circumstances. They must have ruled runner INT on the BR and called him out, returning R1 to 1B. The box score should have it.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Unofficial box score, http://ncaasports.cstv.com/gametrack...&sport=mbasebl shows Wilson out on BI (which it wasn't).
Newspaper accounts vary about who was out. Last edited by umpjim; Mon Jun 13, 2011 at 08:48am. |
|
|||
An article in the Austin American-Statesman cites that the batter "was ruled out Section 50, A.R. 2 of the baseball manual."
I am hoping someone can expand on the what baseball manual is actually referenced in this article. HTML Code:
http://www.statesman.com/blogs/content/shared-gen/blogs/austin/longhorns/entries/2011/06/12/texas_arizona_s_1.html?cxntfid=blogs_bevo_beat |
|
|||
Interference
Section 50. The act of an offensive player, umpire or nongame person who interferes with; physically or verbally hinders; confuses; or impedes any fielder attempting to make a play. A.R. 2 - If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of interference, all runners shall return to teh base last occupied at the time of the pitch. If there was an intervening play made on another runner, all runners shall return to the base last touched at the time of interference. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't see how they could judge that F2 was hindered in making a play on R1, since there was no play possible on R1.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I didn't see the play. Despite ball four, was R1 stealing?
|
|
|||
Yes - plus full count and check swing. I'm sure catcher was throwing in case he appealed and got a strike out of it.
And as much as I was rooting for UT --- I didn't see any reason for interference on BR either. Nomah was going ON and ON about no contact, and other irrelevant nonsense. But I didn't see INT either. Not because there wasn't a play - but because I simply didn't see BR interfering with the throw at all. Would love to have been a fly in that umpire huddle.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Texas v. Nebraska end of game | john_faz | Football | 40 | Mon Dec 14, 2009 09:14am |
Kansas/Texas Game Sit. | wildcatter | Basketball | 14 | Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:53am |
Did anyone see the end of the A&M vs Texas game tonight. | mightyvol | Basketball | 50 | Fri Mar 02, 2007 04:55pm |
Texas Game | SamFanboy | Basketball | 12 | Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:49am |
MSU vs. Texas game | Zebra1 | Basketball | 4 | Mon Mar 31, 2003 03:20pm |