The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 473
Saw this yesterday

Was watching college fast-pitch softball and saw a weird play to end the Florida/Alabama game. Not so much interested in what the correct softball call was, or if it's different in baseball, but wanted to know what would have happened if the same thing happened in baseball.

Situation is two outs, bases loaded. BR hits one back up the middle that ticks off the top of F1's glove toward F4. F4 has to alter their path to the ball (was going up the middle, now having to go back to their left). In the process they are now on a collision course with R1. F4 pulls up to avoid contacting R1 (who is in the basepath) and therefore can make no play.

What do you have? I'll let you know how it was ruled (again, this is NCAA softball so the rule set would be different) but as a coach I would love to know the correct baseball interpretation of this situation. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
Was watching college fast-pitch softball and saw a weird play to end the Florida/Alabama game. Not so much interested in what the correct softball call was, or if it's different in baseball, but wanted to know what would have happened if the same thing happened in baseball.

Situation is two outs, bases loaded. BR hits one back up the middle that ticks off the top of F1's glove toward F4. F4 has to alter their path to the ball (was going up the middle, now having to go back to their left). In the process they are now on a collision course with R1. F4 pulls up to avoid contacting R1 (who is in the basepath) and therefore can make no play.

What do you have? I'll let you know how it was ruled (again, this is NCAA softball so the rule set would be different) but as a coach I would love to know the correct baseball interpretation of this situation. Thanks.
Runner interference in baseball.

If you're hit by the deflected ball you're OK but there's no escaping the fact that you cannot interfere with the fielder no matter what.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
Saw it in action. I've got INT. Don't listen to what the talking heads say about once the ball is deflected you can't have interference. I'll chime in later also with what I think should have happened.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 473
Thanks Tx and Rich, that's what I thought too when I viewed it live. The officials rules no interference (I think it was basically a "play on") and let the run score that ended up finishing the game.

Would love to hear what should have happened, but I'm thinking you've got an out on R1 (Fed 5-1-1e?) and the inning's over since it's the 3rd out (i.e., don't need to consider if the BR would have been out as well on a possible double play).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 07:34pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Don't work softball, but can't imagine why INT would not be called in softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 07:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
You make no mention wether F4 had a play or not, only that F4 stopped. Was there any contact? HTBT situation. On a deflection unless F4 still has a legitimate chance at a play well, then there could be nothing. If contact and no chance of a play, possible OBS. HTBT.

Seems as though txump81 saw the play so I go with him. HTBT.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
There was a chance at a play at 1B.

NCAA rules, so I've got an out on R1. All runners return to their TOP bases since BR has not reached 1B. 11.20

If there really were no INT, 1BU should have been selling the safe signal with a "No interference", safe call, "No interference". As the play happened, he did nothing at all.

FYI, F4 had to check up to not collide with R1 and then proceeded to field the ball and maybe got clipped by R1's heel. F4 ended up rolling on her back into the infield. Run scored, game over.

"Losing coach" comes out and catches umpires behind 3rd base as they are leaving. The umpires then have a conversation and 1BU comes back to the coach with a "We've got nothing" and then they leave. Coach then has lots of choice words.

The whole last scene could have been alleviated had 1BU done as above.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2011, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
Link

Go to the 2:58:45 mark to see the play in question.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
NCAA fastpitch rules:

12.9.7 (The Runner is Out) When she interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, interferes with a fielder attempting to throw the ball or intentionally interferes with a thrown ball.
EFFECT—The ball is dead. The batter-runner is awarded first base.
Notes:
1. If a ball ricochets off one defensive player and another player has the opportunity to make a play, the runner will be ruled out if she intentionally interferes with the second fielder.


If the contact, impediment, near-collision, etc. is not intentional, then it's not interference. While runners are expected to avoid fielders in the act of fielding a batted ball, the "exception to the rule" gives the runner the benefit of the doubt on a play where a fielder may suddenly, unpredictably and unavoidably change her path to the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
The softball rule is irrelevant. The OP posted the play here to learn the baseball ruling on a comparable play. I would invite further discussion of softball plays to move to the softball forum.

In baseball, it's interference. The only exception to the "fielder has the right of way on a batted ball" provision concerns a fielder who misplays the batted ball himself:

"A fielder is not protected, except from intentional contact if he misplays the
ball and has to move from his original location." (8-4-2g)

The deflected ball is still a batted ball, and the runner must still avoid contacting or otherwise interfering with the fielder.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The softball rule is irrelevant. The OP posted the play here to learn the baseball ruling on a comparable play...
It is relevant in that the OP did follow-up with a post that further referenced the NCAA softball game outcome and stated that he "would love to know what should have happened".

Well, now he knows...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
It is relevant in that the OP did follow-up with a post that further referenced the NCAA softball game outcome and stated that he "would love to know what should have happened".

Well, now he knows...
You're right. He should have posted that question in the softball forum.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 11:31am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You're right. He should have posted that question in the softball forum.
Does that mean we need to move Chuck's thread over here?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Does that mean we need to move Chuck's thread over here?
You're being facetious, but why would we? You wouldn't distinguish a topical thread in the wrong forum from an off-topic thread in the right one?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
I disagree that this is interference in baseball. (NFHS) The most current rule book I have with me is 2007, but I cite 8-4-2g, note 1: "If two fielders try and field a batted ball and the runner contacts one or both, the umpire shall decide which one is entitled to field the ball and that fielder only is entitled to protection."

I am leery of calling runner interference on a misplayed ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
had a first yesterday shipwreck Softball 11 Mon Mar 21, 2011 03:45pm
I wasn't at my best yesterday, please help! LIIRISHMAN Softball 37 Mon May 18, 2009 05:13pm
Odd day on the court yesterday... Coltdoggs Basketball 8 Mon Feb 25, 2008 03:37pm
Passed on a T yesterday, why? Coltdoggs Basketball 32 Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:14pm
Yesterday was not fun... AlabamaBlue Softball 9 Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1