The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2011, 02:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Let me amend my earlier posts.

IF it was MC, and if it was before R3 touched the plate, then R3 is out, and B2 is awarded first.

See 9.1.1M and 3.3.1X.
Sorry, but that obstruction occurred during a dead ball.

Our play occurs with a ball that only becomes dead after the MC.

There is simply no way you can award the batter first base because the OBSTRUCTION NEVER OCCURRED.

That's what "supersedes" means: MC "takes the place of" the obstrution.

C'mon, guys: This is easy.

Rich: I posted a reply that disappeared. It was to the effect that the BRD ruling is the same as I posted here, just phrased differently.

I called it a routine play. The only "un-routine" part is that it was an OBR 7.07
[steping in front of the plate] rather than a palin vanilla blocking of the base without the ball.

See FED 3.3.1v and w.

Gotta go! Tournament games in the morning.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2011, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Except -- the batter became a BR on the CO. He can't be sent back to the plate.

I think the OP is the same as: BR bunts. F1 obstructs him. F3 fields the ball and throws to the plate. R3 MC contacts F2.

Here, we're not sending BR back to the plate, are we?

I still have R1 at first, R3 out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2011, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Except -- the batter became a BR on the CO. He can't be sent back to the plate.

I think the OP is the same as: BR bunts. F1 obstructs him. F3 fields the ball and throws to the plate. R3 MC contacts F2.

Here, we're not sending BR back to the plate, are we?

I still have R1 at first, R3 out.
Bob:

I'm dropping out of this thread because it's become repetitive and third-world.

Supersede means instead of.

MC is penalized INSTEAD OF the obstrution: The outrageous act of the runner dissolved the penalty against the defense.

Simple play that happens often.

If you're on the field, you'd better hope the D coach doesn't know what "supersedes" means.
__________________
Papa C
My website

Last edited by Carl Childress; Fri Mar 11, 2011 at 12:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2011, 01:29pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Childress View Post
Sorry, but that obstruction occurred during a dead ball. Our play occurs with a ball that only becomes dead after the MC. There is simply no way you can award the batter first base because the OBSTRUCTION NEVER OCCURRED.

That's what "supersedes" means: MC "takes the place of" the obstrution.

C'mon, guys: This is easy.
As pie.
Quote:
Rich: I posted a reply that disappeared.
Welcome to moderation?
Quote:
I called it a routine play. The only "un-routine" part is that it was an OBR 7.07 [steping in front of the plate] rather than a palin vanilla blocking of the base without the ball.
Yes, routine, what's the buzz, eh?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2011, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simply The Best View Post
.Welcome to moderation?
There was no "moderation" of any of Carl's posts in this thread (or any other thread in the past day or so, and he hasn't been on here in quite a while before that).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2011, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Send a message via Yahoo to rcaverly
I found this NFHS interp from ’09 that rules when the same player is involved in two separate infractions, the "penalties are enforced in the order in which the infractions occurred." Cannot that principle be extended to two separate infractions by other than the same player simply by ambiguous assertion?

’09 SITUATION 15: With runners at first and second and one out, the batter hits a bounding ball to left field. The runner from second touches third and is obstructed advancing to home. The obstructed runner then interferes with the catcher attempting to make a play on the runner from first advancing to third base. RULING: The penalties are enforced in the order in which the infractions occurred. The runner advancing from second is awarded home. Following the enforcement for the obstruction, the interference is penalized. The runner from first is declared out and the batter-runner is returned to the base he legally occupied at the time of the interference. Had the interference been malicious in nature, the obstructed runner would be declared out in addition to the out on the runner from first. (2-22-1, 2-21-1a, 3-3-1n Penalty, 8-4-2e, 8-4-2g)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2011, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simply The Best View Post
As pie.Welcome to moderation? Yes, routine, what's the buzz, eh?
I didn't mean to imply that Bob deleted one of my posts. My reply to Rich was deleted by one of my fat fingers, and I didn't want to take the time to recreate it.

It's been years since I took part in a rules discussion here, so I forgot there is an actual moderator.

Sorry, Bob!
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/64540-play-plate.html
Posted By For Type Date
Catcher Obstruction with Malicious Contact - Forums This thread Refback Thu Feb 20, 2014 06:12pm

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Odd Play at The Plate Stu Clary Baseball 13 Mon Apr 20, 2009 08:59am
Play at the plate Forest Ump Baseball 8 Mon Apr 13, 2009 09:42am
Play at plate tayjaid Softball 10 Wed May 14, 2008 12:42pm
Play at plate Duke Softball 11 Wed Apr 27, 2005 03:19pm
Play at the plate. alabamabluezebra Softball 2 Wed May 29, 2002 08:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1