![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
After you referenced it, I checked the BRD write-up. I'm pretty sure that Carl's reference was to a Rumble ruling that "malicious contact supersedes obstruction" prior to that text being incorporated into the text of rule 8-4-2e(1). I am fairly certain that the interpretation Carl offers, that the R3's malicious contact of F2 completely negates ALL awards resulting from the (catcher's) obstruction of the batter, is his own. I honestly do not believe that is the intent of the FED rule. I find bob jenkins' cite of 9.1.1M(b) more compelling - the "maliciously contacting" runner is deprived of his award, but the other runners are not. Of course, there isn't any "obstruction' in that play, so perhaps I'm mistaken. While FED clearly frowns on malicious contact (as jkumpire observed), I believe they also frown on Catcher's Obstruction, from both a safety and a balance of play perspective, and I doubt their intent is to completely absolve the defense from the penalty for their infraction with regard to offensive players not involved in the malicious contact. I'll be interested to hear Carl's response. (Should he so deign.) JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/64540-play-plate.html
|
||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| Catcher Obstruction with Malicious Contact - Forums | This thread | Refback | Thu Feb 20, 2014 06:12pm | |
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| An Odd Play at The Plate | Stu Clary | Baseball | 13 | Mon Apr 20, 2009 08:59am |
| Play at the plate | Forest Ump | Baseball | 8 | Mon Apr 13, 2009 09:42am |
| Play at plate | tayjaid | Softball | 10 | Wed May 14, 2008 12:42pm |
| Play at plate | Duke | Softball | 11 | Wed Apr 27, 2005 03:19pm |
| Play at the plate. | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 2 | Wed May 29, 2002 08:37am |