The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 95
Dead because foul.
That makes sense.
I have probably called it 50 times and it just never registered what I just did.
Too simple
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2011, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
This question was on the NCAA test. My immediate thought is that the batter is out and the ball is dead the second the catcher touches it. Runners cannot advance and must return. Penalties in baseball are designed to punish the person/team at fault - in this case, the batter.

If the catcher had not caught the ball the result would still be the same, right?

I answered it this way. If it was wrong I'll know in a couple days. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2011, 11:49pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
No catch, it's a strike out. Catch, runner can retouch and attempt to advance. I think you're thinking too much about penalty versus just watching baseball and letting it happened.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 01:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
This is a situation where F2 screwed up by catching the ball. Granted, in most situations, no runner will advance. However, by letting the ball drop foul, the ball's dead and the runners can't advance.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
I have a lote/hate relationship with these questions. I enjoy discussing them but hate seeing them on tests. I appreciate the thoughts but want to ask a couple things:
1) The batted ball is not foul until it is touched while on or over foul terrirtory. By definition, it is a dead ball at the time that happens, right?

2) Yes, I know that a caught fly ball, even foul, is live. But does the bunt attempt supersede it?

2) If that is the case, it is a TOP play, right?

I have pored over J/R and can't find a definitive ruling. Anyone have the EXACT ruling to substantiate our call here?

My test has already been submitted and I passed. My questions are for discussion and improvement only. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel View Post
I have a lote/hate relationship with these questions. I enjoy discussing them but hate seeing them on tests. I appreciate the thoughts but want to ask a couple things:
1) The batted ball is not foul until it is touched while on or over foul terrirtory. By definition, it is a dead ball at the time that happens, right?
Read tehe "when a ball becomes dead" section (I'm without my books, so that might not be the correct title). Does it say the ball is dead on a foul, or on an UNCAUGHT foul?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when— (e) A foul ball is not caught; runners return. The umpire shall not put the ball in play until all runners have retouched their bases;

6.05 A batter is out when— (a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder;
Comment: Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead.

A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 13, 2011, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Read tehe "when a ball becomes dead" section (I'm without my books, so that might not be the correct title). Does it say the ball is dead on a foul, or on an UNCAUGHT foul?
Bob,
A foul is not foul until touched or it comes to a stop on foul ground. As this ball was touched and secured, as the result of an attempted bunt with two strikes, by rule it should be immediately dead. Obviously we have an issue of whether the foul third strike supersedes a foul catch. So far I haven't seen anything that I can use to call this a live ball. I hate these plays but know that it wouldn't be in there unless it happened to one of us and will again. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 09:28am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel View Post
I have a lote/hate relationship with these questions. I enjoy discussing them but hate seeing them on tests.
I hate seeing a lot of them in the games!

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2011, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel View Post
My immediate thought is that the batter is out and the ball is dead the second the catcher touches it. Runners cannot advance and must return. Penalties in baseball are designed to punish the person/team at fault - in this case, the batter.
Using that logic, if you call this a dead ball, you are punishing the defense by preventing them from attempting to get a second out on this play. That's not punishing the batter at all!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2011, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 18
Study Guide

Page 29, College Baseball Rules Study Guide.

Batter is out:

D. With two strikes, he bunts foul (7-11i). If the ball is caught in flight, it remains live; otherwise the ball is dead immediately.
__________________
Doing my best each and every time.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2011, 10:03pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerzeeRef View Post
Page 29, College Baseball Rules Study Guide.

Batter is out:

D. With two strikes, he bunts foul (7-11i). If the ball is caught in flight, it remains live; otherwise the ball is dead immediately.
I've been reading that one the last couple of weeks too. Now I have that one and the new BRD to page through...that should tie me over until April when I can start umpiring again and the 4 feet of snow is gone.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 91
How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS but always trying to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2011, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastordoug View Post
How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS but always trying to learn.
7-4-1-e says it's an out for bunting foul on the third strike

and 5-1-1-d-3 says it becomes dead if it becomes an UNCAUGHT foul
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2011, 02:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastordoug View Post
How about FED ruling? 7-4-1e "an attempt to bunt on thrird strike is a foul." Same play mentioned in OP but following FED you have an out with dead ball... Some of us still doing HS but always trying to learn.
How about this from the Fed Case Book:

2.16.1 COMMENT: Determining when the ball becomes dead on a foul is sometimes tricky. With R1 on second and no one out, consider the following: (1) An attempted bunt on third strike by B2 is a foul fly that is caught by F2. B2 would have been out without the catch, but because of the catch, F1 is not credited with a strikeout and R1 may attempt to advance after the catch.

I think we've thorougly beat this horse dead... in all rule codes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bunt foul with 2 strikes, running bobbrix Softball 3 Wed May 23, 2007 07:59am
Batter runs to 1B on 2 Strikes bigsig Softball 12 Mon Oct 23, 2006 02:46pm
(Slap?)Bunt Foul w/ 2 Strikes mach3 Softball 2 Fri May 09, 2003 06:51pm
Was it a bunt, or a swing with 2 strikes Del-Blue Softball 11 Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:21pm
Balls / Strikes - Talking to F2 or Batter PeteBooth Baseball 2 Wed Sep 06, 2000 10:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1