The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Another NCAA question

R2 is attempting to score on a base hit. As R2 approaches home plate, the throw from F9 is up the third base line causing F2 to move up the baseline in order to catch the ball. As the ball is approximately 10 feet from F2 and he is preparing to glove the ball, he collides with R2 and both are knocked to the ground. F1, backing up the play, picks up the ball and tags R2 before he can touch home base.

a. This is obstruction by F2 and R1 is awarded home.

b. This is a legal play and R1 is called out on the tag by F1 and is ejected if the slide is deemed flagrant.

c.This is interference by R1 and he is called out immediately.

d.This is a legal play and R2 is called out on the tag by F1.

N.B. D is the only answer that correctly identifies the baserunner. I don't know if it's 3 typos or a clue.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
See the NCAA pre-season guide, Obstruction article, play 4. That has this as obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 10:29pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Can anybody send me a copy of the NCAA test? I don't work NCAA, but I do study the CCA and read the rules each year (well, every-other) per the rewrite, so I'd simply like to try the test. Send me a PM if you can help. I guess I'm not interested in paying $100 to take a test for fun. Thanks!
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
See the NCAA pre-season guide, Obstruction article, play 4. That has this as obstruction.
That's why I posted it. If I didn't look at the supplement, I would have answered D.

From the rule book, 2.54 A.R. 1: If the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw, he may be considered "in the act" of fielding.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 10:42pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I just looked at the supplement...it's very good. 16 pages of good, good stuff.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 12:16am
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
That's why I posted it. If I didn't look at the supplement, I would have answered D.

From the rule book, 2.54 A.R. 1: If the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw, he may be considered "in the act" of fielding.
"Occupying one's position" is not moving up the line to catch a ball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 12:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
"Occupying one's position" is not moving up the line to catch a ball.
To me, "occupy his position" means the position he is in to catch the ball. Now if he's running up the line chasing the ball, I have OBS, but if he is standing there waiting on it and is about to field the throw, I've got nothing.

Is it me or are these questions horribly written?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 01:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
R2 is attempting to score on a base hit. As R2 approaches home plate, the throw from F9 is up the third base line causing F2 to move up the baseline in order to catch the ball. As the ball is approximately 10 feet from F2 and he is preparing to glove the ball, he collides with R2 and both are knocked to the ground. F1, backing up the play, picks up the ball and tags R2 before he can touch home base.

a. This is obstruction by F2 and R1 is awarded home.

b. This is a legal play and R1 is called out on the tag by F1 and is ejected if the slide is deemed flagrant.

c.This is interference by R1 and he is called out immediately.

d.This is a legal play and R2 is called out on the tag by F1.

N.B. D is the only answer that correctly identifies the baserunner. I don't know if it's 3 typos or a clue.
As I said above, I've got a legal play. In the 2011 New Rules Video on the NCAA Central Hub, this play is covered in several video clips starting around the 9-minute mark.

B or D are the only possible correct answers, but are they trying to trick us by using R1 instead of R2, or is it just a typo? R2 could possibly be ejected for a collision above the waist, so B could be correct. D could also be correct if you just leave out the part about the collision. Color me confused.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 01:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
See the NCAA pre-season guide, Obstruction article, play 4. That has this as obstruction.
That play sounds exactly like the play at the 8:47 mark in the video I'm talking about. There is a single to left field, F2 goes up the third base line to take the throw and there is contact as he is fielding the throw. This seems like a contradiction to me.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
"Occupying one's position" is not moving up the line to catch a ball.
Obviously, that's the NCAA's take on it. I guess since "F2 collided with R2," he (F2) was moving when the contact occurred, in which case I understand the OBS ruling. But the ruling on a similar play in the supplement says "by moving up the line a few feet, F2 lost his protection [from OBS]." What caused him to lose his protection? Was it because he had to leave his position (even if he was stopped and where he needed to be to field the throw) or because he was moving when the collision occurred? Clear as mud.

I welcome difficult questions, but not when I have to guess at the facts instant to the situation.

The correct answer should be E - HTBT, although I'm answering A when I submit the test.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
R2 is attempting to score on a base hit. As R2 approaches home plate, the throw from F9 is up the third base line causing F2 to move up the baseline in order to catch the ball. As the ball is approximately 10 feet from F2 and he is preparing to glove the ball, he collides with R2 and both are knocked to the ground. F1, backing up the play, picks up the ball and tags R2 before he can touch home base.

a. This is obstruction by F2 and R1 is awarded home.

b. This is a legal play and R1 is called out on the tag by F1 and is ejected if the slide is deemed flagrant.

c.This is interference by R1 and he is called out immediately.

d.This is a legal play and R2 is called out on the tag by F1.

N.B. D is the only answer that correctly identifies the baserunner. I don't know if it's 3 typos or a clue.
On page 8 of the NCAA supplement, play 3: the catcher is contacted just before receiving the ball and they call it baseball. The very next question is eerily similar to play 4 just below it. In this one the fielder is taken up the line a few feet to catch the ball and the contact is made. They call it obstruction. I would ignore the test typo and rule it the same way - a.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 06:36pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
The reason for it being considered obstruction on the catcher isn't because of the collision, it's that once the ball got away from the catcher he could no longer block the runner's path to the plate.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
The reason for it being considered obstruction on the catcher isn't because of the collision, it's that once the ball got away from the catcher he could no longer block the runner's path to the plate.

JJ
I don't see that the play in the NCAA guide indicates any blocking after the ball got away.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
This would be a good quesiton for Mazza to ask his instructors at Harry's.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2011, 09:18pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't see that the play in the NCAA guide indicates any blocking after the ball got away.
I actually answered "d" on my test (won't know till the 13th if I got it right or not), but the question implies that the runner might have been blocked after the collision....."F1, backing up the play, picks up the ball and tags R2 before he can touch home base." That tells me he was still trying to get to the plate and the catcher didn't have the ball anymore. FWIW.

JJ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
NCAA question voiceoflg Baseball 3 Thu Apr 26, 2007 08:52am
NCAA question ATXCoach Basketball 1 Tue Dec 13, 2005 08:41pm
NCAA KCI Question mikesears Football 2 Sun Nov 23, 2003 05:10pm
NCAA Question barney19 Lacrosse 1 Wed May 29, 2002 06:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1