![]() |
|
|||
Another NCAA question
R2 is attempting to score on a base hit. As R2 approaches home plate, the throw from F9 is up the third base line causing F2 to move up the baseline in order to catch the ball. As the ball is approximately 10 feet from F2 and he is preparing to glove the ball, he collides with R2 and both are knocked to the ground. F1, backing up the play, picks up the ball and tags R2 before he can touch home base.
a. This is obstruction by F2 and R1 is awarded home. b. This is a legal play and R1 is called out on the tag by F1 and is ejected if the slide is deemed flagrant. c.This is interference by R1 and he is called out immediately. d.This is a legal play and R2 is called out on the tag by F1. N.B. D is the only answer that correctly identifies the baserunner. I don't know if it's 3 typos or a clue. |
|
|||
Can anybody send me a copy of the NCAA test? I don't work NCAA, but I do study the CCA and read the rules each year (well, every-other) per the rewrite, so I'd simply like to try the test. Send me a PM if you can help. I guess I'm not interested in paying $100 to take a test for fun. Thanks!
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
From the rule book, 2.54 A.R. 1: If the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw, he may be considered "in the act" of fielding. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Is it me or are these questions horribly written? |
|
|||
Quote:
B or D are the only possible correct answers, but are they trying to trick us by using R1 instead of R2, or is it just a typo? R2 could possibly be ejected for a collision above the waist, so B could be correct. D could also be correct if you just leave out the part about the collision. Color me confused. |
|
|||
That play sounds exactly like the play at the 8:47 mark in the video I'm talking about. There is a single to left field, F2 goes up the third base line to take the throw and there is contact as he is fielding the throw. This seems like a contradiction to me.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I welcome difficult questions, but not when I have to guess at the facts instant to the situation. The correct answer should be E - HTBT, although I'm answering A when I submit the test. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
The reason for it being considered obstruction on the catcher isn't because of the collision, it's that once the ball got away from the catcher he could no longer block the runner's path to the plate.
JJ |
|
|||
I don't see that the play in the NCAA guide indicates any blocking after the ball got away.
|
|
|||
Quote:
JJ |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test | ljudge | Football | 2 | Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am |
NCAA question | voiceoflg | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 26, 2007 08:52am |
NCAA question | ATXCoach | Basketball | 1 | Tue Dec 13, 2005 08:41pm |
NCAA KCI Question | mikesears | Football | 2 | Sun Nov 23, 2003 05:10pm |
NCAA Question | barney19 | Lacrosse | 1 | Wed May 29, 2002 06:57am |