![]() |
|
|||
|
The "comment" does equate taking a "flying start" with failure to retouch:
7.10 Any runner shall be called out on appeal when— (a) After a fly ball us caught, he fails to retouch his original base before he or his original base is tagged; Rule 7.10(a) Comment: "Retouch," in this rule, means to tag up and start from a contact with the base after the ball is caught. A runner is not permitted to take a flying start from a position in back of his base. [So what if the runner took a flying start, touched 3B, ran a few steps, then retreated, retouched 3B, and proceeded to home plate? By rule, he did retouch, unless his having taken a flying start somehow disqualifies him from later tagging up on the play.] I never thought of it this way, but it's also an appeal if the runner overruns 1B and fails to return at once. I always assumed the ump could just call the runner out for dawdling, but apparently the defense has to call it to the ump's attention.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Fri Jan 14, 2011 at 12:43pm. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| The clock kept running...and running... | A Pennsylvania Coach | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 09, 2010 05:26pm |
| Some running for the WH | Rich | Football | 10 | Thu Oct 25, 2007 09:10pm |
| Time limit - -when does clock start running | Tap | Softball | 46 | Tue Jul 03, 2007 08:13am |
| Running to 1st | Zoochy | Baseball | 5 | Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:36pm |
| We're off and running .... | TexBlue | Softball | 3 | Mon Jun 21, 2004 01:45pm |