![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
In appeals, the OBR book speaks of tagging the runner or the base "missed or left too soon." It doesn't include "or at which the runner got a running start." (Of course, the "appeal" of BOO doesn't require a tag, either.)
However, that could be simply an oversight, and the BRD is carefully compiled. It's hard to believe that a running start has to be appealed, though. I've wondered whether it's still a violation if the runner backs up behind the base to get a running start but then remains at the base (or runs partway to the next base and then retreats)? Similarly, I was once called out when I tagged up on 3B on a long fly, and the 3B coach whacked my rear at the moment the outfielder caught the ball. Would I still have been out if I hadn't run home?
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
|
I don't have my baseball books with me, but I'm 95%certain that it is mentioned, at least in some comment or note.
|
|
|||
|
The "comment" does equate taking a "flying start" with failure to retouch:
7.10 Any runner shall be called out on appeal when— (a) After a fly ball us caught, he fails to retouch his original base before he or his original base is tagged; Rule 7.10(a) Comment: "Retouch," in this rule, means to tag up and start from a contact with the base after the ball is caught. A runner is not permitted to take a flying start from a position in back of his base. [So what if the runner took a flying start, touched 3B, ran a few steps, then retreated, retouched 3B, and proceeded to home plate? By rule, he did retouch, unless his having taken a flying start somehow disqualifies him from later tagging up on the play.] I never thought of it this way, but it's also an appeal if the runner overruns 1B and fails to return at once. I always assumed the ump could just call the runner out for dawdling, but apparently the defense has to call it to the ump's attention.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Fri Jan 14, 2011 at 12:43pm. |
|
|||
|
This "flying start" concept only applies when it is used as a way to tag and advance on a caught fly ball. If the runner uses a "flying start" but does not advance to the next base and returns to his original base, there is no infraction and this cannot be appealed. If the runner started with a "flying start", advanced a bit, returned and retagged, this would be legal and he would not be subject to be called out on appeal.
As far as the coach swatting you on the butt at the time the fly ball was caught, or on first touch, this is coach assist and the runner is to be called out regardless if the runner advanced or not. Last edited by UmpTTS43; Fri Jan 14, 2011 at 04:30pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Under FED, I'd get the out either way. |
|
|||
|
I agree.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them." |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| The clock kept running...and running... | A Pennsylvania Coach | Basketball | 1 | Sat Jan 09, 2010 05:26pm |
| Some running for the WH | Rich | Football | 10 | Thu Oct 25, 2007 09:10pm |
| Time limit - -when does clock start running | Tap | Softball | 46 | Tue Jul 03, 2007 08:13am |
| Running to 1st | Zoochy | Baseball | 5 | Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:36pm |
| We're off and running .... | TexBlue | Softball | 3 | Mon Jun 21, 2004 01:45pm |