The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2011, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
In appeals, the OBR book speaks of tagging the runner or the base "missed or left too soon." It doesn't include "or at which the runner got a running start." (Of course, the "appeal" of BOO doesn't require a tag, either.)
I don't have my baseball books with me, but I'm 95%certain that it is mentioned, at least in some comment or note.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2011, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The "comment" does equate taking a "flying start" with failure to retouch:

7.10 Any runner shall be called out on appeal when—

(a) After a fly ball us caught, he fails to retouch his original base before he or his original base is tagged;

Rule 7.10(a) Comment: "Retouch," in this rule, means to tag up and start from a contact with the base after the ball is caught. A runner is not permitted to take a flying start from a position in back of his base.

[So what if the runner took a flying start, touched 3B, ran a few steps, then retreated, retouched 3B, and proceeded to home plate? By rule, he did retouch, unless his having taken a flying start somehow disqualifies him from later tagging up on the play.]

I never thought of it this way, but it's also an appeal if the runner overruns 1B and fails to return at once. I always assumed the ump could just call the runner out for dawdling, but apparently the defense has to call it to the ump's attention.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Fri Jan 14, 2011 at 12:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2011, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
This "flying start" concept only applies when it is used as a way to tag and advance on a caught fly ball. If the runner uses a "flying start" but does not advance to the next base and returns to his original base, there is no infraction and this cannot be appealed. If the runner started with a "flying start", advanced a bit, returned and retagged, this would be legal and he would not be subject to be called out on appeal.

As far as the coach swatting you on the butt at the time the fly ball was caught, or on first touch, this is coach assist and the runner is to be called out regardless if the runner advanced or not.

Last edited by UmpTTS43; Fri Jan 14, 2011 at 04:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2011, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
This "flying start" concept only applies when it is used as a way to tag and advance on a caught fly ball. If the runner uses a "flying start" but does not advance to the next base and returns to his original base, there is no infraction and this cannot be appealed. If the runner started with a "flying start", advanced a bit, returned and retagged, this would be legal and he would not be subject to be called out on appeal.

As far as the coach swatting you on the butt at the time the fly ball was caught, or on first touch, this is coach assist and the runner is to be called out regardless if the runner advanced or not.
I agree with you for OBR. Since it's an appealable offense, the baserunner has corrected the error before the appeal.

Under FED, I'd get the out either way.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2011, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree with you for OBR. Since it's an appealable offense, the baserunner has corrected the error before the appeal.

Under FED, I'd get the out either way.
I agree.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 15, 2011, 12:21am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Proof that it is winter, because we discuss third world situations that few, if any, will need to rule on.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 15, 2011, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ulster County, NY
Posts: 125
I brought up this situation because recently several umpires and myself watched the Jim Evans Diamond Challenge DVD - a selection of 25 plays in which you make the call from a multiple choice listing (OBR based). I missed this one not realizing that it is an appealable violation...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The clock kept running...and running... A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 1 Sat Jan 09, 2010 05:26pm
Some running for the WH Rich Football 10 Thu Oct 25, 2007 09:10pm
Time limit - -when does clock start running Tap Softball 46 Tue Jul 03, 2007 08:13am
Running to 1st Zoochy Baseball 5 Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:36pm
We're off and running .... TexBlue Softball 3 Mon Jun 21, 2004 01:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1