The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Farmland west of Chicago
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to BK47
Jurassic, what does a rule have to do with this particular play?

As you said, and the video clearly shows, Martinez was already on third base as Patterson was going back to third, however BEFORE Patterson makes it back to third he trips and falls and F2 tags him on the back (may have been the leg but I think it was the back) with the ball in his right hand. That is an out. Even you said you saw this and said that Patterson never retouchs third base. How can you have two people on the same base when it never happened? Even after Patterson got up to head back to the dugout (if you look closely and read his reaction even he thought he was out) he never touchs third base even as a precautionary measure. But that shouldnt matter as F2 had already tagged him for the out. But the umpires blew the call in my opinion and Patterson figures why not, I will try to score anyway, and they, the umpires, let the play continue. Why?

So with that, my questions still remains:

1. How is this a Righteous call?
2. Why is Martinez out?
3. Why didnt the third base coach put up more of a fight as he was there to witness the whole play? (maybe because he didnt know the rule? could be but how can the rule come into effect when still the point is there were never two people on the base at the same time)

If someone sees something that I dont please tell me but I clearly see Patterson getting tagged BEFORE he retouchs third base.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Farmland west of Chicago
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to BK47
Byron, I agree with you. If they were both on the base at the same time, then it is consistent with the rule to have R2 called out if there was a tag on him. Some here says that Longoria is blocking the camera when F2 actually tagged him. That is possible I cant tell from the camera angle. But the thing is Patterson never makes it back to third from what I can see and he is tagged out first Before Martinez is supposedly is tagged.

To keep the rule intact, dont you have to have both players on the same base at the same time then by tagging R2 (Martinez) first you get an out? If I am wrong please correct me but thats how I read the rule. If both are on the base at the same time, how can R3 (Patterson) be tagged first and called out then R2 (Martinez) be tagged secondly and called out? That just doesnt make sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK47 View Post
To keep the rule intact, dont you have to have both players on the same base at the same time then by tagging R2 (Martinez) first you get an out? If I am wrong please correct me
It doesn't matter in what order they are tagged, or whether the lead runner is tagged at all. If both are on the base, the trail runner is out when tagged (assuming there's no force involved).

What the umpires saw, and what they ruled, might be different from that and from what the replays show or don't show.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 09:03am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK47 View Post
Jurassic, what does a rule have to do with this particular play?

If someone sees something that I dont please tell me but I clearly see Patterson getting tagged BEFORE he retouchs third base.
I already said that I didn't know the damn rule when I said that it was righteous call. And I also already said that Pattersen was tagged before he touched the bag and Martinez was on the bag when he was tagged.

Whatinthehell more do you want? Sackcloth and freaking ashes?

Lah me......
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post

Whatinthehell more do you want? Sackcloth and freaking ashes?
I want flagellation. Oh, and video of it, please.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 12:36pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I want flagellation.
Ok, but if I go blind, it's on you!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 01:23pm
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Wolf blew the call

Patterson was tagged off the bag. At that point, Martinez is entitled to the bag, and is occupying it. It doesn't matter if he is tagged or not at that point; he is standing on a base to which he is legally entitled.

BK47, you're not missing anything. Only Wolf is--the call.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Here's what I see in the video:

R3 breaks for home and gets in a run-down. R2 advances to 3rd and remains touching it throughout the play. R3 is chased back to third, and reaches it before being tagged. With both runners touching 3rd, R3 is tagged and then R2 is tagged, perhaps accidentally, but tagged all the same. R2 is called out. But R3 has already gotten up and has started for the dugout, and he is subsequently tagged out.

So what is the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 02:21pm
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
R3 (Patterson) did not reach the base before being tagged. See :55-:57 for a clear view.

There was no basis to rule Martinez out.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2010, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Farmland west of Chicago
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to BK47
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
I already said that I didn't know the damn rule when I said that it was righteous call. And I also already said that Pattersen was tagged before he touched the bag and Martinez was on the bag when he was tagged.

Whatinthehell more do you want? Sackcloth and freaking ashes?

Lah me......
na, but I could go for a good Ale or maybe a Gin and Tonic..........

sorry dude, didnt mean to piss you off.........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base NCASAUmp Softball 20 Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am
1st base or 3rd base extended? JR12 Baseball 21 Wed Apr 18, 2007 01:16pm
what's base is your favorite base to pay? softballbabe14 Softball 5 Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:01pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
first base safety base sneallyk Baseball 3 Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1