The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 08:46pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
3B Coach Interference Ends Game

3B coach interferes for final out, Twins hold on - MLB - Yahoo! Sports

Anyone seen it or have a link to the video?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
What A Call

I saw it after it happened, and the replays they showed did not clearly show if there was contact or not. However, if there was not contact it was very close, and the 3B umpire was in position to see it. He came up with it immediately, and sold it strong. Tough call, great call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 09:29pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Unusual play helps Twins sweep Rangers | twinsbaseball.com: News

Here's the clip. Marquez was right on top of it. He didn't even look back at the tag he was that sure.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Cant say as I see any "physical" assistance by the coach aiding the runner returning to the base. Appeared there was a "touch" of hands but in my opinion, no physical assistance, which is necessary to enforcing the rule. I personally dont call him out for the coaches actions...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 09:44pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
umpjong, I'm not sure that would be the correct interpretation of the rule.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
OBR 7.09(h) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
My understanding is that if the coach is "reaching" for the player in an initial attempt to hold him up (or tell him to go), and contact is then made, it's going to be judged to be "assisting" even if the coach was by then withdrawing the hand and / or the touch had no / minimal affect on the player's actions.

Of course, I've been wrong before.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
My understanding is that if the coach is "reaching" for the player in an initial attempt to hold him up (or tell him to go), and contact is then made, it's going to be judged to be "assisting" even if the coach was by then withdrawing the hand and / or the touch had no / minimal affect on the player's actions.

Of course, I've been wrong before.
According to Jim Evans you're correct, according to some on this board who have more expertise than Evans, you are wrong. I'm with Jim.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
According to Jim Evans you're correct, according to some on this board who have more expertise than Evans, you are wrong. I'm with Jim.
This confuses me. Can you cite a interp or a case?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
My understanding is that if the coach is "reaching" for the player in an initial attempt to hold him up (or tell him to go), and contact is then made, it's going to be judged to be "assisting" even if the coach was by then withdrawing the hand and / or the touch had no / minimal affect on the player's actions.

Of course, I've been wrong before.
I don't think there's any disagreement with that interpretation. I believe the disagreement is in the call at hand, where there are those who believe that the contact which occurred wasn't of the kind to which you allude or any other kind of assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA vs. Japan game ends on LBR violation TwoBits Softball 50 Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:11pm
4th Quarter ends tie game! T to coach? flsh224 Basketball 8 Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:02pm
Boys Varsity game ends 5-2 Rich Basketball 6 Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:12am
Triple Play Ends Game whiskers_ump Softball 0 Tue Feb 17, 2004 10:56pm
Grand Slam ends the game? TriggerMN Baseball 10 Tue May 20, 2003 12:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1