The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
My understanding is that if the coach is "reaching" for the player in an initial attempt to hold him up (or tell him to go), and contact is then made, it's going to be judged to be "assisting" even if the coach was by then withdrawing the hand and / or the touch had no / minimal affect on the player's actions.

Of course, I've been wrong before.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
My understanding is that if the coach is "reaching" for the player in an initial attempt to hold him up (or tell him to go), and contact is then made, it's going to be judged to be "assisting" even if the coach was by then withdrawing the hand and / or the touch had no / minimal affect on the player's actions.

Of course, I've been wrong before.
According to Jim Evans you're correct, according to some on this board who have more expertise than Evans, you are wrong. I'm with Jim.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
According to Jim Evans you're correct, according to some on this board who have more expertise than Evans, you are wrong. I'm with Jim.
This confuses me. Can you cite a interp or a case?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
My understanding is that if the coach is "reaching" for the player in an initial attempt to hold him up (or tell him to go), and contact is then made, it's going to be judged to be "assisting" even if the coach was by then withdrawing the hand and / or the touch had no / minimal affect on the player's actions.

Of course, I've been wrong before.
I don't think there's any disagreement with that interpretation. I believe the disagreement is in the call at hand, where there are those who believe that the contact which occurred wasn't of the kind to which you allude or any other kind of assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA vs. Japan game ends on LBR violation TwoBits Softball 50 Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:11pm
4th Quarter ends tie game! T to coach? flsh224 Basketball 8 Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:02pm
Boys Varsity game ends 5-2 Rich Basketball 6 Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:12am
Triple Play Ends Game whiskers_ump Softball 0 Tue Feb 17, 2004 10:56pm
Grand Slam ends the game? TriggerMN Baseball 10 Tue May 20, 2003 12:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1