The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 08:46pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,641
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
3B Coach Interference Ends Game

3B coach interferes for final out, Twins hold on - MLB - Yahoo! Sports

Anyone seen it or have a link to the video?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
What A Call

I saw it after it happened, and the replays they showed did not clearly show if there was contact or not. However, if there was not contact it was very close, and the 3B umpire was in position to see it. He came up with it immediately, and sold it strong. Tough call, great call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 09:29pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
Unusual play helps Twins sweep Rangers | twinsbaseball.com: News

Here's the clip. Marquez was right on top of it. He didn't even look back at the tag he was that sure.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Cant say as I see any "physical" assistance by the coach aiding the runner returning to the base. Appeared there was a "touch" of hands but in my opinion, no physical assistance, which is necessary to enforcing the rule. I personally dont call him out for the coaches actions...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 09:44pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
umpjong, I'm not sure that would be the correct interpretation of the rule.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
OBR 7.09(h) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 10:04pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
How do you know for sure that the contact didn't assist him? That's why they call it that way. He reached to touch his hand...it's not like he overslid into him or something. Sorry, I don't think we're going to agree.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to Patrick Szalapski
Watched it live on TV. Sure looked like they touched hands to me, but my immediate thought was that he didn't assist.

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjong View Post
OBR 7.09(h) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.
Could one argue that, as long as there is some tiny force exerted on the runner in the general direction of the base, there was indeed assistance? Or should the rule be interpreted more "ordinarily"--that is, there must be some significant noticeable assistance to call interference?

Related: Tschida's comment | Twinkie town blog | Notes from a 2001 similar case

Last edited by Patrick Szalapski; Sun Sep 05, 2010 at 10:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 10:12pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Szalapski View Post
Could one argue that, as long as there is some tiny force exerted on the runner in the general direction of the base, there was indeed assistance? Or should the rule be interpreted more "ordinarily"--that is, there must be some significant noticable assistance to call interference.
I think your point above is exactly where umpjong and I disagree.

I'm stating that any contact (friction) for the most part is going to assist him in slowing down or changing direction. The rule doesn't specify how much assistance, simply assist.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 10:21pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjong View Post
OBR 7.09(h) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.
Tapping a tagging runner on the back physically assists the runner without any due force involved.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
I'm stating that any contact (friction) for the most part is going to assist him in slowing down or changing direction. The rule doesn't specify how much assistance, simply assist.
This is why the first part of the rule is so important. It starts with "in the judgment of the umpire". This is why in my response of what I saw, my opinion was that there was no physical assistance. Others may have it and thats their judgment. You would have to answer the dispute, if you call the out, with the words something in the lines of, " in my judgment, the base coach physically assisted the base runner in returning to the base. If that is your take, I cant argue your judgment, but on the other hand, my response for not calling it would be that in my judgment, the base coach did not physically assist the base runner returning to the base. Tschida did not explain it very well, unless he was mis quoted as is probably the case.........
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Tapping a tagging runner on the back physically assists the runner without any due force involved.
In a pro game? In a youth game under OBR, I probably LMAO on this one.

There would be no need for the "physical assist" in the rule if it was based solely on a touch. As I said before. if you can judge a physical assist then you can apply the rule. My opinion on this play is that there is none.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 10:53pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
I think the rule is stating that a touch is a physical assist.

I don't agree with you, but I can see your point. I think your interpretation leaves to much gray area...but like I wrote above, I can see your point. At what point is there assistance? It doesn't say intentionally...just judgment...which goes along with what you've written above. We have different ideas on how we'd judge the play.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 05, 2010, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
It appears that the 3B coach put his hand out to stop the runner and contact was made. Good call.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Watch U3 closely, he's not even seeing at the touch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA vs. Japan game ends on LBR violation TwoBits Softball 50 Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:11pm
4th Quarter ends tie game! T to coach? flsh224 Basketball 8 Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:02pm
Boys Varsity game ends 5-2 Rich Basketball 6 Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:12am
Triple Play Ends Game whiskers_ump Softball 0 Tue Feb 17, 2004 10:56pm
Grand Slam ends the game? TriggerMN Baseball 10 Tue May 20, 2003 12:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1