![]() |
|
|||
|
"ground" rule double
Evan Longoria hit a long fly to the corner in right field against the Yankees Sunday at Tropicana Field. The ball landed in fair territory and bounced up and struck the extended foul pole screen above the yellow line on the outfield fence and then returned to the field of play. The play was halted, Longoria was awarded a double and the runner on first was held at third.
So, by rule, if a fair batted ball bounces up and hits any part of the foul pole above a yellow line is the ball dead and the batter awarded a double? Is this rule unique to MLB or is it standard at most levels? Thanks in advance for any answer. |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Reporting "Double" Numbers | Stat-Man | Basketball | 29 | Tue Dec 23, 2008 09:23am |
| ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight | pizanno | Basketball | 27 | Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am |
| Proposition why the "Double Hite" Must Die | OmniSpiker | Volleyball | 2 | Tue Oct 30, 2007 01:21pm |
| Strange "Ground Rule" Double | Rich Ives | Baseball | 14 | Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:19pm |
| Double Foul with "Dirty Hands" | Stripe | Football | 5 | Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:12pm |