The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
Double Foul with "Dirty Hands"

I'm drawing a blank here. 3rd & 8 on A's 35. B is guilty of holding before the pass. B intercepts at the 50 and A commits a 15 yard facemask when they tackle him at A's 40. Do you enforce both penalties or do they offset?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
This is the classic offsetting situation where there is a change of possession. This would have been offsetting had there been no change of possession as well. On a change of possession A would foul prior to the COP and B decline it to keep the ball.

The only time you enforce both would be if one was USC or a dead-ball foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
In these scenarios where B gets the ball with dirty hands, all live ball fouls committed by A will cause an offsetting situation whether A's foul was committed before or after the change of possession.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 08:40pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stripe
I'm drawing a blank here. 3rd & 8 on A's 35. B is guilty of holding before the pass. B intercepts at the 50 and A commits a 15 yard facemask when they tackle him at A's 40. Do you enforce both penalties or do they offset?
In cases where the first foul is not UR or RP, dual fouls are penalized from spot of first foul. A's best option is to keep the ball, 3D/13 @ A-30.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 05, 2006, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
JugglingReferee, I don't follow that. Spot of the first foul? I thought these would offset since they were both live ball fouls and not USC.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 05, 2006, 10:12pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stripe
JugglingReferee, I don't follow that. Spot of the first foul? I thought these would offset since they were both live ball fouls and not USC.
Look at the header of my reply - it is for the Canadian amateur game.

People don't often reply, but I am sure that it does provide an interesting view into another facet of football.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why "general" and "additional"? Back In The Saddle Basketball 1 Sat Oct 07, 2006 02:56pm
"Balk" or "Ball" johnnyg08 Baseball 9 Fri Aug 18, 2006 08:26am
"Double play" (of sorts)... Dakota Softball 0 Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:59pm
"Leaving Early" (pitch) to pull up socks Dakota Softball 17 Fri May 26, 2006 12:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1