![]() |
|
|
|||
The rule states that Mattingly is tossed, the pitcher pitches to that batter then is removed. They kicked it. How could they not know this rules?
|
|
|||
The ejection portion of that rule is for a manager who deliberately deceives the warning to not go back to the mound. The warning and Mattingly going back to the mound occurred at basically the same time. How could Mattingly deceive a warning he didn't know he was going to get until he steps on the mound and simultaneously hears the warning with 30,000 fans in the stands? To EJ w/o a warning, would also not be following the rule.
An EJ there would not have been appropriate and IMO a misinterpretation of the rule. The crew's only mistake was not requiring Broxton to pitch to the next batter.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
The umpires knew the rule and the different penalties and made a decision. You may disagree with how they interpreted the situation, but you cannot accurately claim they did not know the rule. |
|
|||
I can. I claim they did not know the rule. Or if they did, they chose to ignore it. Broxton MUST pitch to that batter - they removed Broxton from the game instead. Kind of leads me to believe they didn't know the rule (or forgot it at least).
I agree re: the non-ejection. PS - johnny ... what the heck does "deceive the warning" mean? How does one deceive a warning? I'd call it a typo but you said it twice.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Um... no. Got a dictionary?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
And again, you may disagree with their interpretation..their supervisor did...however they continue to maintain their interpretationis correct. They knew the rule. Once again, you may disagree with their interpretation of enforcement for that situation, but they knew the rule and chose that enforcement for that situation. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
In a case where a manager has made his first trip to the mound and then returns the second time to the mound in the same inning with the same pitcher in the game and the same batter at bat, after being warned by the umpire that he cannot return to the mound, the manager shall be removed from the game and the pitcher required to pitch to the batter until he is retired or gets on base. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm pretty sure that there's something in MLBUM/PBUC/NAPBL/JR/Evans that says that if, for some reason, the manager isn't warned that he isn't ejected / removed, but that the penalty still applies to the pitcher (pitch to the current batter and then be removed). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|