The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 11, 2010, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
3.06 & 3.07 are very clear and understandable. But, 3.08 seems to say there is no penalty for violating 3.06. I would like for some more senior umpires weigh in on this.

We had a specific situation in a Cal Ripkin 10U tournament this weekend where a substitute batter was reported to the umpire and consequently reported to the official scorer by the umpire, but when his place came up in the batting order, the original starter batted instead of the substitute. Since (at least in Ripkin Ball) that batter (the starting batter) would have been able to re-enter legally, was this a violation or simply an unreported substitution that would be covered by 3.08 (a2).
I can't tell you about Cal Ripken rules. In OBR, if a coach told me "12 for 24" and then I saw 24 immediately come to the plate, I'd stop the game and ask about it. He'd either send 12 up or withdraw the sub. I don't really care which, and I certainly won't insist (contrary to the rules) that 12 has entered the game unless he actually enters the game.

I've never seen anything like that, but then again I don't work 10U. I frankly don't know why any umpire would fret about subs at that level.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1