View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 11, 2010, 08:19pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
3.06 & 3.07 are very clear and understandable. But, 3.08 seems to say there is no penalty for violating 3.06. I would like for some more senior umpires weigh in on this.

We had a specific situation in a Cal Ripkin 10U tournament this weekend where a substitute batter was reported to the umpire and consequently reported to the official scorer by the umpire, but when his place came up in the batting order, the original starter batted instead of the substitute. Since (at least in Ripkin Ball) that batter (the starting batter) would have been able to re-enter legally, was this a violation or simply an unreported substitution that would be covered by 3.08 (a2).
I can't tell you about Cal Ripken rules. In OBR, if a coach told me "12 for 24" and then I saw 24 immediately come to the plate, I'd stop the game and ask about it. He'd either send 12 up or withdraw the sub. I don't really care which, and I certainly won't insist (contrary to the rules) that 12 has entered the game unless he actually enters the game.

I've never seen anything like that, but then again I don't work 10U. I frankly don't know why any umpire would fret about subs at that level.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote