![]() |
|
|
|||
In FED, on umpire's interference with a throw from the catcher, runners can be sent back to their original bases if, in the umpire's judgment, his interference allowed runners to advance.
In the OP's case, this isn't possible since the batter received strike three. There's no rule to cover this case, so I think you have a 10-2-3g situation. I think everyone agrees that the batter should remain at first in the OP.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
|
|||
I absolutely do not agree. Nor do I think that this is umpire interference. And I also disagree that there is no rule to cover the case: there is, namely the dropped third strike rule.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
2-21-2: It is umpire interference when he inadvertently moves so as to hinder a catcher's attempt to throw... No mention that this applies only to throwbacks to the pitcher or only throws to a base. As a matter of fact, the wording makes it seem as it this rule could apply on a fair batted ball that the catcher fields (although I don't see how an umpire could possibly interfere with that play). That batter in the OP has got to go somewhere, whether it be the dugout or first base. Where would you place him, Mbyron?
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Drop third strike | tmuckel | Baseball | 9 | Sat May 05, 2007 08:56pm |
Drop 3rd Strike | Stevie | Softball | 4 | Sat Apr 16, 2005 07:52pm |
Drop 3rd strike | coreyboy | Softball | 8 | Thu Mar 11, 2004 08:14pm |
Drop 3rd Strike (ASA) | jbambas | Softball | 14 | Thu Aug 07, 2003 07:51am |
Drop 3rd strike | sbnorman | Baseball | 3 | Sat Jun 15, 2002 02:22am |