![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The criterion of determining whether F1's intent is deception (mentioned in OBR 8.05 but not in FED) is to be employed ONLY when the umpire is in doubt about whether F1 has balked. In this case, the umpire should be in no doubt whatsoever. Therefore F1's intent is irrelevant.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I agree with the balk call here. Once F1 brings his hands together and stops, he is set. If he stares in for the sign, then moves his hands closer to his body, we have a double set.
However, if F1 brings his hands together as in the OP and then leans in for the sign, you must call the balk right then and there. F1 has come set, then made movement that was not delivering the pitch or attempting to make a play. In this case, do not allow F1 to go any farther without balking him.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I have many times seen a pitcher put his hands together in front of him with the pivot foot on the plate and the non-pivot foot stretched out about shoulder width. He takes his signs and then sets by bringing his hands to his body and feet together. I am suspecting this is what is happening. If the poster would clarify, maybe we could end this discussion in 3 threads.
Not having been there I am assuming this is what happened. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Pickoff from the stretch position | Rufus | Baseball | 21 | Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:22pm |
Stretch | Redneck Ref | Baseball | 2 | Sun Jul 10, 2005 04:30pm |
Stretch to set | largeone59 | Baseball | 5 | Thu Jun 16, 2005 08:54pm |
7th inning stretch | ppahr | Baseball | 14 | Wed Sep 03, 2003 09:42am |
no stretch balk? | dflynn | Baseball | 8 | Wed May 16, 2001 01:22am |