The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
No he cannot. This is considered a set position. During the stretch, his pitching hand must be at his side or behind him.
OBR "Preparatory to coming to a set position, the pitcher SHALL, have his one hand on his side; from this position he SHALL go to his set position as defined in Rule 8.01 (b) without interuption and in one continuous motion"

"The pitcher following his stretch MUST........b. come to a complete stop."

I don't have a balk here, as long as that pause is really a complete stop.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 08:54am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
OBR "Preparatory to coming to a set position, the pitcher SHALL, have his one hand on his side; from this position he SHALL go to his set position as defined in Rule 8.01 (b) without interuption and in one continuous motion"

"The pitcher following his stretch MUST........b. come to a complete stop."

I don't have a balk here, as long as that pause is really a complete stop.
It sounds to me like he came set, then got his signs, then came set again. How is this not a balk?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
It sounds to me like he came set, then got his signs, then came set again. How is this not a balk?

This is exactly what was happening. It was a young pitcher and the umpires did not call a balk. However there was some talk in the stands about wether this was actually legal or not.
OK Steve, you want to call it a balk, its a balk. He came to a complete stop and evidently deceived NO ONE.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 06:38pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Double set = balk. If he is on the rubber, with hands together and completely stopped he is set. If he then moves hands and stops again he has double set. It is irrelevant when he got the sign. The balk is the double set.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
OK Steve, you want to call it a balk, its a balk. He came to a complete stop and evidently deceived NO ONE.
He came set and then made a motion naturally associated with his pitch and failed to make such delivery. Balk OBR 8.05 (a)

We are not required to determine if anyone was deceived, only to enforce the balk rules.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire View Post
He came set and then made a motion naturally associated with his pitch and failed to make such delivery. Balk OBR 8.05 (a)

We are not required to determine if anyone was deceived, only to enforce the balk rules.
+1

The criterion of determining whether F1's intent is deception (mentioned in OBR 8.05 but not in FED) is to be employed ONLY when the umpire is in doubt about whether F1 has balked.

In this case, the umpire should be in no doubt whatsoever. Therefore F1's intent is irrelevant.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
I agree with the balk call here. Once F1 brings his hands together and stops, he is set. If he stares in for the sign, then moves his hands closer to his body, we have a double set.

However, if F1 brings his hands together as in the OP and then leans in for the sign, you must call the balk right then and there. F1 has come set, then made movement that was not delivering the pitch or attempting to make a play. In this case, do not allow F1 to go any farther without balking him.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
I agree with the balk call here. Once F1 brings his hands together and stops, he is set. If he stares in for the sign, then moves his hands closer to his body, we have a double set.

However, if F1 brings his hands together as in the OP and then leans in for the sign, you must call the balk right then and there. F1 has come set, then made movement that was not delivering the pitch or attempting to make a play. In this case, do not allow F1 to go any farther without balking him.
Ozzy, there is no separate balk rule about a "double set." Both of your examples are enforced under the same rule..8.05(a) and in the pro circles are known as "started and stopped".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pickoff from the stretch position Rufus Baseball 21 Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:22pm
Stretch Redneck Ref Baseball 2 Sun Jul 10, 2005 04:30pm
Stretch to set largeone59 Baseball 5 Thu Jun 16, 2005 08:54pm
7th inning stretch ppahr Baseball 14 Wed Sep 03, 2003 09:42am
no stretch balk? dflynn Baseball 8 Wed May 16, 2001 01:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1