The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 03, 2010, 12:14am
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by yawetag View Post
R1 gets 2B. You've quoted the rule yourself.


Edit: The rule allows the umpires to award more than one base. For example, speed-demon R1 with a base hit to the RF corner. You know that he'll make it home easily, as defense was shifted to LF. After rounds 2B, he's obstructed by F6. You can award R1 home on the play.
Careful here. Let the play finish before deciding to award bases. If R1 is out at home by a fingernail, then yes, awarding home would seem to rectify the obstruction.
If R1 is tagged out half way to home, then no, the obstruction did not cause him to be out.
Biggest hang up on this is for us not to decide the award (protection) or punishment until the play is finished.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 03, 2010, 01:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
Careful here. Let the play finish before deciding to award bases. If R1 is out at home by a fingernail, then yes, awarding home would seem to rectify the obstruction.
If R1 is tagged out half way to home, then no, the obstruction did not cause him to be out.
Biggest hang up on this is for us not to decide the award (protection) or punishment until the play is finished.
Careful here.

How badly was the OBS? If I rule it was enough to be out halfway, then I could award home.

I do agree, though. The award should match what you think they would have gotten had the OBS not occurred. It also does not protect the runner after that base you would have awarded.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 03, 2010, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
Careful here. Let the play finish before deciding to award bases. If R1 is out at home by a fingernail, then yes, awarding home would seem to rectify the obstruction.
If R1 is tagged out half way to home, then no, the obstruction did not cause him to be out.
Biggest hang up on this is for us not to decide the award (protection) or punishment until the play is finished.
Why are you complicating this thread? The thread is about R1 being obstructed while trying to return to 1st on a pickoff to 1st in a FED game. We are not talking about R1 going home or 3rd or scratching his butt while dancing the jig at 2nd. This is why these threads get so far out of hand. Stick to the subject, please.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 03, 2010, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
Stick to the subject, please.
Alternatively, feel free to start a new thread.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
obstruction scyguy Baseball 7 Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm
NSA / Obstruction Bandit Softball 4 Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm
Is it obstruction or not? JRSooner Baseball 2 Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:26pm
Obstruction..or not? Andy Softball 7 Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:58pm
Obstruction or an out? Rachel Softball 6 Mon Apr 14, 2003 04:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1