![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I stand corrected...you are right...that was the BR they waved to second...thanks....
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game |
|
|||
|
Yeah, that's the A's-Rays game I mentioned on July 11, 2009...they showed that replay in the A's-Seattle game....low pitch and squibble slowly away from the catcher, and the catcher kind of knocked the ball toward his glove using his mask....they gave R1 one base then, too....if I recall the replay correctly....
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Except, of course, in FED - where it's two.
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Right after we get chastised (elsewhere) for bringing up the "wrong" rules in a discussion?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
But not with the catcher's inadvertent use of his mask to control the ball....that's the point....it changes the whole sitch...no longer has anything to do with the fact it was a pitch.....
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game |
|
|||
|
In the Mariners play, the umpires got together and determined that the ball was no longer a batted ball after the third baseman's touch, as he had changed impetus driving the ball. Hence, the ruling that it was a thrown ball (two base award on detached equipment) rather than a batted ball (three base award on detached equipment). Interesting ruling and they get paid big bucks for this. Notice that the MLB did not make any kind of a clarification on this, so it implies they go the ruling right, despite forum members saying they got it wrong. I tend to agree with the umpires on the field, but I am a Mariners fan suffering a minor disaster of an open to the season, and may not be objective.
|
|
|||
|
wtf?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Can you clarify what you mean by this? I recall nothing about the catchers intent when using his mask. I'm pretty sure it states quite clearly that it 1 base on a pitched ball, 2 on a thrown ball, and 3 on a batted ball (from time of touch).
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Batter picks up live ball | falsecut | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jun 13, 2009 09:24am |
| Base coach picks up ball | bossman72 | Baseball | 8 | Wed Apr 23, 2008 07:52am |
| nike catcher mask | greensabre91 | Baseball | 9 | Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:41am |
| Catcher flipping mask? | cas659 | Softball | 3 | Sun Jun 12, 2005 05:39pm |
| Ball 4 Deflects off the Catcher | GerryBlue | Baseball | 4 | Mon Jul 28, 2003 02:21pm |