![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Once a runner aquires the right to a base, he has fulfilled his obligation for touching the base whether advancing or returning and therefore can not miss thed base he already touched.
In Fed? "Please read Situation #9 coach and direct all questions to NFHS, maybe they can explain it better." The way I am understaning this now, (and I may be wrong), in the OP had the returning runner missed 3b when returning and then again when heading for home, you would still deny the appeal. If this is different please supply a reference. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
For all other codes: deny the appeal.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
For what it is worth, the runner was called out. As was pointed out above, the runner was called out at the end of the play (and not on appeal) because we have no appeal plays in SC.
Also, for what it is worth, I have read through this thread several times and I now have doubts...but prior to this thread I definitely would have called R3 out on appeal had this occurred in a game when I was in MiLB. Thanks for everyone's thoughts. |
|
|||
|
I was reading through some FED interps on NFHS.com last night and saw this exact play posted in there on their official 2010 interps document that has 20 sample case plays. NFHS interp states that the runner must retouch 3B or be called out on appeal.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
We're discussing whether it's the "right" ruling in FED and whether it is (or should be) the same in other codes. |
|
|||
|
That topic comes up fairly often on discussion boards, that SC allows no appeals. I know that quite a few years ago this was the rule for all FED games, it was since changed and SC retained the old rule. But it always makes me wonder about something else.
When you say NO appeals, how do they handle appeals for batting out of order, which the rule book clearly labels an appeal by the defense? Or, is it that SC just doesn't allow BASERUNNING appeals? |
|
|||
|
Isn't it "right" until they change it?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
In SC under FED rules, if the umpire sees a missed base, he calls it without any defensive player/coach having to tell him. This is an old FED rule which only SC still does. In others, the defense has to at least tell the umpire before he makes a ruling. And, as you know in OBR, the defense has to tag/touch the runner/base for a ruling.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|