The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Bring on the lawsuits

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawump View Post
Bunch of umpire guys kick off the season each year by have a big dinner together at a local restaurant after our FED test. Last night was that night. During the evening one umpire shared a play he had last year, and asked if he "got it right."

The play resulted in a spirited debate. I am going to post the play, and NOT tell you my opinion. I am interested in your opinions.

FED RULES: R3. Batter hits the ball out in front of the plate. R3 comes far down the line. F2 fields the ball, and sees he has a play on R3. R3 sprints back toward third base. R3 goes back into third base standing up. He actually is going back so quickly, that he cannot stop at the bag, but rather steps on third base and continues several steps past the bag, and is standing on the outfield side of the bag. R3 is clearly going to be out, except F2 throws the ball all the way to the left field corner. R3 turns around and sprints for home (remember, he is standing two good steps on the outfield side of third base). He runs completely in foul territory and never touches third base on his way home. Defense appeals that the runner missed third base.

Do you uphold or deny the appeal? FED? OBR?
It wouldn't be any different if he skirts fair territory just inside the 3rd baseline.

Appeal denied, R3 is standing on 3B at TOP. How can he miss the base?
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat Feb 13, 2010 at 12:28am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 09:13am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Great thread...so what do we tell the def-coach in our OBR games when he wants the appeal? Please offer an explanation...I've read all of the posts at least twice...I'm just wondering on what grounds we can deny the appeal in OBR...the coach will want an explanation and "I saw it on officiating.com" is probably not the best one I could give him. Thank you.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
Great thread...so what do we tell the def-coach in our OBR games when he wants the appeal? Please offer an explanation...I've read all of the posts at least twice...I'm just wondering on what grounds we can deny the appeal in OBR...the coach will want an explanation and "I saw it on officiating.com" is probably not the best one I could give him. Thank you.
Tell him there is no "missed base" because the runner could not legally retreat past 3rd. He was not obligated to touch 3rd again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Once a runner aquires the right to a base, he has fulfilled his obligation for touching the base whether advancing or returning and therefore can not miss thed base he already touched.

In Fed? "Please read Situation #9 coach and direct all questions to NFHS, maybe they can explain it better."

The way I am understaning this now, (and I may be wrong), in the OP had the returning runner missed 3b when returning and then again when heading for home, you would still deny the appeal. If this is different please supply a reference.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
The way I am understanding this now, (and I may be wrong), in the OP had the returning runner missed 3b when returning and then again when heading for home, you would still deny the appeal. If this is different please supply a reference.
For FED, R1 (on third) is out on appeal. The reference is Situation 9: "Ruling: R1 is out on the valid defensive appeal."

For all other codes: deny the appeal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 13, 2010, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
For what it is worth, the runner was called out. As was pointed out above, the runner was called out at the end of the play (and not on appeal) because we have no appeal plays in SC.

Also, for what it is worth, I have read through this thread several times and I now have doubts...but prior to this thread I definitely would have called R3 out on appeal had this occurred in a game when I was in MiLB.

Thanks for everyone's thoughts.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 01:49pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I was reading through some FED interps on NFHS.com last night and saw this exact play posted in there on their official 2010 interps document that has 20 sample case plays. NFHS interp states that the runner must retouch 3B or be called out on appeal.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 15, 2010, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawump View Post
because we have no appeal plays in SC.
Waaaaahuh? You mean...none? At all? For anything?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1