The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2009, 02:17pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
J/R would indeed be wrong in this case. The defense may legally appeal the missed base, which would result in an advantageous fourth out, and no runs score as the 3rd out would be the result of a force.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 04:20am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
J/R would indeed be wrong in this case. The defense may legally appeal the missed base, which would result in an advantageous fourth out, and no runs score as the 3rd out would be the result of a force.
Why would J/R be wrong? A runner who misses a base is still assumed to have touched the base until proper appeal. The runner was retreating back to second and was tagged. A tag in itself is not a proper appeal. The tag should have come with a verbal appeal as the tag was applied. Thus, the defense lost it's right to appeal. The defense erred when it tagged the runner instead of making the proper appeal first.

You cannot have the runner make two outs in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
Why would J/R be wrong? A runner who misses a base is still assumed to have touched the base until proper appeal. The runner was retreating back to second and was tagged. A tag in itself is not a proper appeal. The tag should have come with a verbal appeal as the tag was applied. Thus, the defense lost it's right to appeal. The defense erred when it tagged the runner instead of making the proper appeal first.

You cannot have the runner make two outs in this situation.
The defense does NOT lose its right to any appeals if all action is continuous action of the same play.

In this case, all of the action was after BR hit the ball. It is all part of the same play and tagging R1 does not cause the defense to lose their right to appeal. J/R is wrong if they say the defense does lose the right in this play.

And, for the post about the runner being out at 2B if he is in the vicinity, what a load of crock. If R1 is tagged while off of 2B, he is out. Not at a base, he is just out. He can be tagged while off 2B and then appealed for missing 2B. The tag is while he is off a base, the appeal is having him out at 2B.

You can't have him out at the same base if he missed it twice. For example, on a fly ball, R1 misses 2B going to 3B. Then, he misses it going back to 1B after the ball is caught. Now, the defense can't appeal both of them to get 2 outs. They can only appeal 1 miss of it and have him out 1 time. But, tagging a runner off base is not the same as calling him out at a base. Calling out at a base is a force play. Big difference.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
The defense does NOT lose its right to any appeals if all action is continuous action of the same play.
I concur and so does J/R.

From the manual: "An appeal of a runner's failure to touch or retouch can be upheld if such appeal occurs (a) while the ball is live, and (b) before the next pitch or post-continuous action play...and (c) as the first and only appeal of a certain runner's failure to touch or retouch a certain base, and (d) any appeal throw made after continuous action has ended does not become an overthrow."

In the two examples cited, all relevant conditions requisite to upholding an appeal have clearly been met. J/R contradicts itself in denying the appeals in those two examples.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 24
For my newbie brain: In the case where R1 actually touches third, then heads back to second, the force play is on and the run does not score - right? Also, say in the case where R1 touches third, coach tells him to return, and he breaks for second but a tag is made on him, I believe the run would still not score correct?

Last edited by victory; Wed Dec 02, 2009 at 11:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
R1 starts at 1B. If he reaches 3B, retreating toward 2B does not reinstate any force.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 24
I guess I'm reading too much into 7.08(e)? "However, if the forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason towards the base he had last occupied, the force play is reinstated..."

Last edited by victory; Thu Dec 03, 2009 at 12:34am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
Why would J/R be wrong?
It wouldn't be the first time.

It's (relatively) rare, but it happens.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 02:50am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
I concur and so does J/R.

From the manual: "An appeal of a runner's failure to touch or retouch can be upheld if such appeal occurs (a) while the ball is live, and (b) before the next pitch or post-continuous action play...and (c) as the first and only appeal of a certain runner's failure to touch or retouch a certain base, and (d) any appeal throw made after continuous action has ended does not become an overthrow."

In the two examples cited, all relevant conditions requisite to upholding an appeal have clearly been met. J/R contradicts itself in denying the appeals in those two examples.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It wouldn't be the first time.

It's (relatively) rare, but it happens.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler View Post
Why would J/R be wrong?
See above posts.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force play or tag play dsbrooks1014 Baseball 3 Tue Apr 21, 2009 09:09pm
Force Play rottiron01 Softball 32 Fri Aug 31, 2007 07:04pm
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Force or Time Play?? Dave Davies Baseball 7 Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:14pm
Force Out Play jggilliam Softball 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1