The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 10:37am
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
R1, R3 double steal

A few weeks ago a fellow named Manny A. brought up the following play on Eteamz in order to illustrate the definition of “play”.

Manny wrote: “If you insist on an example for "play or attempted play", try this one: R1 and R3, no outs. R1 takes off for second. F2 catches the pitch, and throws it hard back to F1 in an attempt to fool R3 that he is throwing out R1. F1 catches the throw, sees that R3 started going for home and is now trying to head back to third, and he throws over to third base. The ball eludes F5 and goes into the stands. At the time of F1's throw, R1 had already reached second base. Where do you place the runners and why?”

Manny’s answer: “So F1's throw to F5 to retire R3 is an initial play in this sequence, not a subsequent play. By 7.05(g), runners get two bases from the Time of Pitch. That means R1 goes no further than third base, regardless if he reached second or not before the throw.”

When I first read the play, it seemed pretty straight forward, and I awarded R1 home. I already knew the concept of “play” but thought it was irrelevant. I thought first play/second play by an infielder only applied to a batted ball. So did a fellow named Will Bumgardner. But it was quickly pointed out to Will that 7.05(g) has no such requirement. I reread 7.05(g) and agreed. Then Will pointed out the comment to 7.05(g): "If an unusual play arises where a first throw by an infielder goes into stands or dugout but the batter did not become a runner (such as catcher throwing ball into stands in attempt to get runner from third trying to score on passed ball or wild pitch) award of two bases shall be from the position of the runners at the time of the throw. (For the purpose of Rule 7.05 (g) a catcher is considered an infielder.)"

This was never addressed in the thread. I’m with Will here. I still have R1 scoring. Although I agree with Manny that this is a good illustration of a “play”, by showing that the catcher’s throw back to the pitcher is not a “play”, in this situation it has no bearing on the outcome due to the comment pointed out by Will. Agree?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steal after BB DeRef Softball 3 Wed Jun 25, 2008 08:11pm
Who's out on steal home?? tibear Baseball 13 Fri Jun 13, 2008 12:53pm
Steal of Home U_of_I_Blue Baseball 4 Fri Jun 24, 2005 01:35pm
Walking steal. Roger Greene Softball 37 Thu Sep 04, 2003 08:40am
Can we steal on foul tip? sasan14 Baseball 4 Thu Jul 26, 2001 03:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1