The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2009, 11:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Lineup

Al
Bill
Charlie


Al batting but Charlie is on deck.

Al doubles.

Manager sees Charlie coming to the plate and decides to pinch-hit for him with Dusty.

Dusty doubles in the run. Before next pitch defensive team manager notifies the umpire of the batting out of order.

Bill is declared out.

Who is now up? Can Charlie bat? Is Dusty still in the game for Charlie?
First question--was Dusty an announced or unannounced sub? If unannounced, then he really subbed for Bill--he took Bill's position in the box. There is no BOO and Charlie is up.

If announced, Bill is out, and Dusty is up. He is still in the game for Charlie.

Now, the tricky thing is, if announced, the umpire has to figure out if the substitution is projected, as Charlie is not the rightful batter, and disallow it, or if it is incidental to the BOO.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2009, 11:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Let me just play devils advocate here. How can, as the plate umpire, you announce a substitution you know is not legal? Just thinking out loud here. Absent this little warp in the time/space continum, I have an unannounced substitution, Charlies up, Dusty is in for Bill.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2009, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino View Post
Let me just play devils advocate here. How can, as the plate umpire, you announce a substitution you know is not legal? Just thinking out loud here. Absent this little warp in the time/space continum, I have an unannounced substitution, Charlies up, Dusty is in for Bill.
I'm not an umpire so let me ask.

Can a manager only announce a sub when the subbed-for player is due to bat? Can't he announce it , say, when there's one more batter to go before his PH comes in?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2009, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post

If announced, Bill is out, and Dusty is up. He is still in the game for Charlie.
Now, the tricky thing is, if announced, the umpire has to figure out if the substitution is projected, as Charlie is not the rightful batter, and disallow it, or if it is incidental to the BOO.
Educate me on this last section. What do you mean when you say "substitution is projected?"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 26, 2009, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
I'm not an umpire so let me ask.

Can a manager only announce a sub when the subbed-for player is due to bat? Can't he announce it , say, when there's one more batter to go before his PH comes in?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Educate me on this last section. What do you mean when you say "substitution is projected?"
Your two questions are related.

A projected substitution is one that does not occur at the time that the manager indicates his desire, such as stating that "Xavier will hit for Bill when it's his turn." These are not legal. The substitution can only occur when the switch occurs at the same time that the manager indicates it. On offense, this means that a substitution can only occur with a live runner or a current batter. On defense, this means that the switch must be made at the time of the announcement, and that the player being replaced must be in the field.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 27, 2009, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Your two questions are related.

A projected substitution is one that does not occur at the time that the manager indicates his desire, such as stating that "Xavier will hit for Bill when it's his turn." These are not legal. The substitution can only occur when the switch occurs at the same time that the manager indicates it. On offense, this means that a substitution can only occur with a live runner or a current batter. On defense, this means that the switch must be made at the time of the announcement, and that the player being replaced must be in the field.
Under OBR and the MLBUM there is NO such limitation.

LL has that limitation in its tournament rules but not in its regular season rules.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 27, 2009, 06:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
First question--was Dusty an announced or unannounced sub? If unannounced, then he really subbed for Bill--he took Bill's position in the box. There is no BOO and Charlie is up.

If announced, Bill is out, and Dusty is up. He is still in the game for Charlie.

Now, the tricky thing is, if announced, the umpire has to figure out if the substitution is projected, as Charlie is not the rightful batter, and disallow it, or if it is incidental to the BOO.
I agree. And if the coach sends Dusty up to bat for Charlie when it's Bill's turn, then HE doesn't think it's a "projected" substitution. The umpire should allow it and proceed with the game.

In other words, it doesn't matter if it is IN FACT a projected substitution. I'm not going to prevent BOO just because the coach is subbing.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 27, 2009, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
This shouldn't happen if your keeping a lineup card. Having said that, it may be Fallball and things are much more relaxed however, as PU, I am going to make sure the change (if announced) is registered with the other team before we proceed.

Now, if the change is unannounced, then Dusty batted for Bill and Charlie is up next.

Be proactive in these situations and you will have less problems to resolve.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batting Out of Order? Paul L Softball 3 Tue Mar 13, 2007 08:29am
Batting out of Order paparada Softball 1 Mon Jul 10, 2006 10:58am
batting order mccann Softball 3 Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:32pm
Pinch hitter is not announced Jay R Baseball 2 Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:02pm
batting out of order klp3515 Baseball 5 Wed May 07, 2003 12:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1