![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Welcome to the forum, Marco.
R2 is not out for his actions in your play. Although he is forced to advance to 3B, this means only that he is not entitled to remain on 2B, NOT that he is forced to run into a tag. The only rule commonly violated on this play is 7.08(a)1, which requires that a baserunner run directly toward a base when a fielder is trying to tag him. If he runs around a tag (more than 3 feet out of HIS baseline -- notice that does not refer to the line between the bases) then he is out. 7.08(i) does not apply to this case: returning toward the base one from which one has been forced does not constitute "running the bases in reverse order." As for your Italian umpires: if they regard R2's actions as a violation deserving an out, then they owe you a rules citation to demonstrate exactly which provision he violated. My position is that he has violated none of the baserunning requirements of rule 7, and is thus not out. No one provision declares R2's actions legal because that's not how the rules work: they prohibit certain actions. Unless your umpires can come up with the relevant prohibition, the action is legal. Beware the argument that "everybody knows this is an out." Finally, your question about getting an "official" ruling. MLB rulings are "official" only for MLB. Your league umpire-in-chief would be responsible for your league. He could contact the MLB press office and ask to be put in touch with the relevant supervisory official for MLB. But I don't think that you'll get much that way, for the reason I just gave.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
The most common arguments I have been told are:
The one doubt I do have, but which has never been used to justify this ruling is in 7.08(a)(1): "He runs more than three feet away from his baseline to avoid being tagged unless his action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runner’s baseline is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base he is attempting to reach safely;". Now... usually in geometry a line extends to infinity both ways... but someone could interpret this a a *base-segment* which extend just from where the player is, to the base he is trying to reach... then moving more than 3 feet back towards the previous base would actually apply. As said, nobody actually ever proposed this interpretation and I do not expect it to be proposed. OTOH I would expect it to be explicitly described in a case, were it appliable... since it is really quite far fetched. As for italian rulings... well the FIBS does want to play the same game everybody else is playing. That's the reason our rulebook is an exact match of yours (even though the translation is not always perfect). If MLB umpires consistently interpret rules one way or the other, I'd expect ours to follow. Regards and thanks for the answers, Marco |
|
||||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
ABUA Online Store
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Frazz
Sounds like your umpires need some serious rules study.
If you can foot the bill, I know I can cut some time out from my work schedule to come over to your country and do some rules clinics. ![]() Anyone else on the board willing to go?
|
|
|||
|
Frazz, there is a rule in softball that the batter-runner, between home and 1B, cannot "step backward to avoid or delay a tag." It's considered interference. The BR is out and all runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. Maybe that's the root of some of the confusion.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks, Marco |
|
|||
|
If I was F5 I would just go tag 3B when runner gave up on trying to reach, since there is no hope of getting a DP, get the lead runner easily.
Nothing wrong with runner being smart. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So I could see that both the correct and misunderstood softball rule could easily confuse some umpires doing both games. But Frazz, even in softball, the runner in the OP did nothing wrong. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Forced out at first | cjg619 | Softball | 6 | Mon Mar 21, 2005 04:40pm |
| being forced OOB | Tmeup | Basketball | 7 | Tue Dec 09, 2003 03:55pm |
| forced runner? | jeramie | Softball | 16 | Thu Aug 07, 2003 07:57am |
| forced out | astod20378 | Baseball | 1 | Thu Jun 19, 2003 09:49pm |
| Forced runner retreating | Bluefoot | Softball | 14 | Thu Jun 05, 2003 09:50am |