![]() |
|
|
|||
Frazz, there is a rule in softball that the batter-runner, between home and 1B, cannot "step backward to avoid or delay a tag." It's considered interference. The BR is out and all runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. Maybe that's the root of some of the confusion.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks, Marco |
|
|||
If I was F5 I would just go tag 3B when runner gave up on trying to reach, since there is no hope of getting a DP, get the lead runner easily.
Nothing wrong with runner being smart. |
|
|||
"If I was F5 I would just go tag 3B when runner gave up on trying to reach, since there is no hope of getting a DP, get the lead runner easily."
If the play presents itself, you can run R2 back a few steps, throw to 2B for the force on R1, and then you have R2 trapped.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Disagree. I've seen this play more than once. F5 doesn't have to run R2 back very far—just enough. If R2 is about halfway to 3B when F5 throws to F4, there should be time to get R2. Obviously, the throws have to be quick, so you don't see the play at levels where F6 is still cutting off F2's throws to 2B with a runner on 3B.
It's the same as R1, ground ball to F4, who attempts to tag R1. (We've all seen plays in which F4 attempts to tag R1 rather than throw to F6 at 2B.) R1 backs up to delay the tag. The play is to throw to 1B to get the BR and then play on R1. Obviously, if R2 has progressed far enough toward 3B, the play isn't going to be possible. It requires a ground ball to F5's left, with the "confrontation" with R2 occurring quickly.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Wed Oct 07, 2009 at 10:40am. |
|
|||
Somewhat related. Don't have books on me but could someone give me the reference for OBR saying it is legal for BR to retreat towards 1st. I know where it is in NCAA, but not in OBR.
Thanks |
|
|||
Quote:
So I could see that both the correct and misunderstood softball rule could easily confuse some umpires doing both games. But Frazz, even in softball, the runner in the OP did nothing wrong. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Forced out at first | cjg619 | Softball | 6 | Mon Mar 21, 2005 04:40pm |
being forced OOB | Tmeup | Basketball | 7 | Tue Dec 09, 2003 03:55pm |
forced runner? | jeramie | Softball | 16 | Thu Aug 07, 2003 07:57am |
forced out | astod20378 | Baseball | 1 | Thu Jun 19, 2003 09:49pm |
Forced runner retreating | Bluefoot | Softball | 14 | Thu Jun 05, 2003 09:50am |