The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 07:40pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Emerling View Post
Ball four is in the dirt but caught cleanly by the catcher. The batter trots off to first base as the catcher hands the ball to the PU who exchanges it for a new ball.

Huh?

The ball is live and in play! We have a baserunner!

What happens if the catcher's throw back to the pitcher is wild and the batter-runner tries to make a break for 2nd? Is it possible he can be thrown out by a different baseball than the one that initiated the play? Or - is the ball dead, precluding the batter-runner from attempting to advance to 2nd? Worse yet, what if the umpire's throw back to the pitcher is wild?
YGTBSM!

This has to at least tie, wouldn't you people say?
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA fastpitch - batter hitting ball in the dirt RM85 Softball 6 Mon Jun 04, 2007 09:04pm
ball in dirt clips2 Baseball 15 Tue Oct 03, 2006 06:59pm
Ball In Dirt Armadillo_Blue Baseball 10 Fri Apr 21, 2006 09:16pm
Can a ball in the dirt be a strike? WestMichBlue Softball 23 Thu Aug 07, 2003 09:54pm
Pitched ball into the dirt and HBP stripes.ref Softball 3 Sun Jun 29, 2003 12:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1