The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 173
I thought I was sure, but now I'm not

Both batted balls bounced off the ground and hit the batter in fair territory (the second might have been over the fair portion of the batter's box) while he still had a foot in contact with the batter's box and before the other foot had touched entirely out of the batter's box. I thought the rule was that a batted ball, including a ball that has hit the ground already, hitting a batter still in the box (defined as no foot on the ground outside of the box) is foul. I would have called both foul, but I think now I might have been wrong.

OBR 6.05(g): "A batter is out when his fair ball touches him before touching a fielder."

OBR 2.00: "A foul ball is a batted ball . . .that , while on or over foul territory, touches the person of a . . . player . . .."

I don't have my J/R with me. What is the MLBUM ruling on this? Does the position of the batter's feet matter at all?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touching ball to the floor fiasco Basketball 2 Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:33pm
Touching ball to floor sj Basketball 19 Sat Jun 16, 2007 04:17pm
Touching Ball To Floor Sven Basketball 5 Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:13pm
inbounder touching ball shont Basketball 2 Wed Dec 01, 2004 03:23pm
Touching up on foul ball Bobbyg Baseball 3 Fri May 09, 2003 10:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1