![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
6.05(g) says that the batter is out if hit by a fair ball, and part of the batters box is clearly in fair territory. I know that most people says that if the batter is still in the box when he is hit it's a foul, but I can't find where to refere this in the OBR. Could these calls actually be correct? |
|
|||
|
First of all, both batters were hit in fair territory and called out because that is what was called, period.
Secondly, strictly as a professional armchair umpire with the benefit of slow-mo replay only, I can see that they were foul balls. Sooooooo, bottom line here, JR12 gets the "I Found An Error by a MLB Umpire Award" for today. Thanks for passing this frivilous info along. Slow day at the house JR? |
|
|||
|
Because it's not in there. But, as an interp, if the batter is hit by the ball when the ball is in the box, it's treated as a foul ball.
|
|
|||
|
I won't call that unless he's WAY out of the box. Forget the "one foot on the ground entirely outside of the box" stuff. That only applies at the moment the bat contacts the ball (for a different rule). For me, the batter pretty much needs to run into his batted ball to be called out. Otherwise, I have a foul ball, to be sold strongly.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Touching ball to the floor | fiasco | Basketball | 2 | Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:33pm |
| Touching ball to floor | sj | Basketball | 19 | Sat Jun 16, 2007 04:17pm |
| Touching Ball To Floor | Sven | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:13pm |
| inbounder touching ball | shont | Basketball | 2 | Wed Dec 01, 2004 03:23pm |
| Touching up on foul ball | Bobbyg | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 09, 2003 10:55am |