The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 02:24pm
sj sj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Touching ball to floor

This concerns the situation where a player has picked up his dribble and is holding the ball and sort of leans over and he touches the ball to the floor. By rule this isn't a dribble but from the stands comes the usual nonsense hollering for a double dribble.

At some pint in history does anybody know if this used to be considered a dribble? Or is it an NBA rule or something? I'm just wondering where the confusion might come from.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,445
The confusion comes a lack of oxygen caused from fans having their heads placed firmly in a methane-filled environment.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 02:43pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Lightbulb

BTW - there's no such violation as a "double" dribble - the correct term is "illegal" dribble. Next time a coach yells at you for not calling a "double" dribble, tell him there's no such thing. Fun will ensue.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 03:00pm
sj sj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
BTW - there's no such violation as a "double" dribble - the correct term is "illegal" dribble. Next time a coach yells at you for not calling a "double" dribble, tell him there's no such thing. Fun will ensue.
Sounds like it could be a great time. I'll try that this summer with the AAU types and let you know how it goes. I'll also tell them about how there is no such thing as over the back and reaching. If we turn on a camera we might have an episode for the Jerry Springer Show.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
BTW - there's no such violation as a "double" dribble - the correct term is "illegal" dribble. Next time a coach yells at you for not calling a "double" dribble, tell him there's no such thing. Fun will ensue.
ive said that before -- along with over the back and reach

the usual response is "of course there is" / "where did they find you i am going to tell whoever is running this tourney that you dont know the rules"


my response to that is always "be my guest"
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 10:14pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
ive said that before -- along with over the back and reach

the usual response is "of course there is" / "where did they find you i am going to tell whoever is running this tourney that you dont know the rules"


my response to that is always "be my guest"
Haven't you ever said to a coach, "Ya' wanna' bet on it, Sparky?" Tell him you have a rule book in your bag and you can look it up. If he's right, you'll give him $100, but if you're right, he has to hand wash and wax your car. I haven't had a coach take me up on this yet.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 11:50pm
sj sj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Haven't you ever said to a coach, "Ya' wanna' bet on it, Sparky?" Tell him you have a rule book in your bag and you can look it up. If he's right, you'll give him $100, but if you're right, he has to hand wash and wax your car. I haven't had a coach take me up on this yet.
Agreed. The "wanna bet $100" line creates instant dead air. I reserve that only for the summer AAU types. I haven't used it on a real coach yet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2007, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Haven't you ever said to a coach, "Ya' wanna' bet on it, Sparky?" Tell him you have a rule book in your bag and you can look it up. If he's right, you'll give him $100, but if you're right, he has to hand wash and wax your car. I haven't had a coach take me up on this yet.
I did this a couple of years ago and the coach refused to pay up. After the game (boys AAU) ended, the coach and 3 of his players walked by where my partner and I were changing shoes before leaving the gym. He remarked that I was wrong on a call (I had made the bet with him earlier). I pulled out the rule book and showed him where I was right. He said it didn't matter, because he wasn't going to pay up. His players immediately started pointing fingers and laughing at him for losing. Man, he was PO'd. That was the best part of the game.
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. He will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by sj
Agreed. The "wanna bet $100" line creates instant dead air. I reserve that only for the summer AAU types. I haven't used it on a real coach yet.
Summer coaches are people too.
__________________
Luther
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 01:37pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrpalmer3
Summer coaches are people too.
You're assuming all coaches are people. Never assume.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 01:57pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
You're assuming all coaches are people. Never assume.
I think he miss-spelled "some," as in "some coaches are...." I don't think I can disagree with that.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2007, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
BTW - there's no such violation as a "double" dribble - the correct term is "illegal" dribble. Next time a coach yells at you for not calling a "double" dribble, tell him there's no such thing. Fun will ensue.
While there is no such violation as a "double dribble", obviously a double dribble is a violation. This is akin to saying there a "hack" is not a foul. If you've been hacked, you know it's a foul. It hurts, LOL.

As someone pointed out here recently, NFHS just writes the rule books. A lot of the terminology pre-dates the NFHS. Just because the Fed changes its jargon doesn't mean the rest of the world has to follow suit.

Calling a "discontinue" or a "carry" or a "palm" or a "double dribble" an "illegal dribble" may be technically correct, but nowhere near as easy to say or as descriptive.

Why not just have one foul call, for that matter. Why hold, block, push, trip, etc.? Why not just "Foul"?
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2007, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
While there is no such violation as a "double dribble", obviously a double dribble is a violation. This is akin to saying there a "hack" is not a foul. If you've been hacked, you know it's a foul. It hurts, LOL.

As someone pointed out here recently, NFHS just writes the rule books. A lot of the terminology pre-dates the NFHS. Just because the Fed changes its jargon doesn't mean the rest of the world has to follow suit.
While they don't HAVE to follow suit, it sure makes things easier when everyone is talking the same language....and in a way that makes sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Calling a "discontinue"
a what????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
or a "carry" or a "palm" or a "double dribble" an "illegal dribble" may be technically correct, but nowhere near as easy to say or as descriptive.
What's undescriptive or difficult about carry or palm?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Why not just have one foul call, for that matter. Why hold, block, push, trip, etc.? Why not just "Foul"?
Isn't the goal to have a sufficiently clear and consistent but brief communication. THe problem with local, non-official "jargon" is that it varies and has different meanings to different people. It can convey an entirely different message than intended. We all know what is meant by "reach" but some believe that it can be a foul just for reaching, without contact, simply because of the unofficial terminology that is poorly thougth out.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2007, 04:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
While there is no such violation as a "double dribble", obviously a double dribble is a violation.
It is?

If a player's dribble ends by the dribble touching an opponent, and the player immediately dribbles again, you're saying that the "double dribble" is a violation?

Sorry. Can't agree with that.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2007, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by sj
Agreed. The "wanna bet $100" line creates instant dead air. I reserve that only for the summer AAU types. I haven't used it on a real coach yet.
I've had a HS coach bet me his entire year's salary that it's a violation if the jumper is the first person to control the ball after it's touched the floor. I should have gone double-or-nothing with him so I could have bought a burger and a Pepsi with my winnings.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touching Ball To Floor Sven Basketball 5 Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:13pm
inbounder touching ball shont Basketball 2 Wed Dec 01, 2004 03:23pm
Touching the ball to the ground. treebuck Football 14 Wed Nov 05, 2003 09:54pm
Touching up on foul ball Bobbyg Baseball 3 Fri May 09, 2003 10:55am
keeper touching ball rcwilco Soccer 11 Tue Feb 25, 2003 04:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1