![]() |
|
|||
Interference and Force Out, Baseball Style
NCASAUmp made started a thread (see Interference and force out) on Softball Forum on Tue., Aug. 04, 2009, with the following post:
"Sitch: R1 on 3B, R2 on 1B, 2 outs. B4 hits a dribbler that touches the top of 1B. R2, thinking it's a foul ball, trots back to the ball, picks it up and tosses it to F3. The ball did not pass any infielder, nor was it touched by any infielder. R2 was not in contact with 1B when he picked up the ball. R1 had crossed the plate before R2 touched the ball. There's no doubt that R2 is out. The question is: is this considered a force out? My instinct tells me, "no sh1t, Dave, do you even need to ask? O f course it is!" Yet something is nagging me in the back of my mind on this one." The Softball thread is up to four pages and is causing some grinding of teeth because of the lack of an ASA rule that prevents the run from scoring. My opinion is that the run should not score in the softball game but my opinion is not important. I would like to start a discussion about this as a baseball play per NFHS, NCAA, and OBR. Ladies and germs (oops, I mean gentlemen), let the discussion begin. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interference and force out | NCASAUmp | Softball | 54 | Fri Aug 07, 2009 02:20pm |
Is inadvertant contact on a force still interference? | scarolinablue | Baseball | 39 | Wed Mar 11, 2009 02:52pm |
Interference / Force Play Slide | tjones1 | Baseball | 25 | Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:25pm |
Hockey style baseball masks | m18troopermhp | Baseball | 7 | Mon Nov 01, 2004 02:38pm |
Umpiring Baseball Canadian Style | jicecone | Baseball | 12 | Tue Jul 15, 2003 02:26pm |