![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
PU F2 HP Edge of mound F1's left foot "in" the rubber (hole in-front of) Rubber F1's right foot 2B (Edit: F1 is still facing 3B as a righty) If this is right, then I would say on 1st glance, that he is merely straddling the rubber, and is subject to those restrictions, but with the foot in the rubber, I see attempted deception and cause for a balk. I will have to go for further review before giving a complete answer.
__________________
Ump Rube ----------------------------------------------------- Ump (uhmp) shorted form; an official in a sport who rules on plays. Rube (roob) slang; sports fan who listens to KFAN in Minneapolis, MN. Last edited by Ump Rube; Fri Jul 17, 2009 at 03:06pm. Reason: clarification |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What you have described [and i THINK what the OP describes] is F1 straddling the rubber [assuming, as you and I do, that he is facing 3d base]. Nothing sinister about that; and yes, he can attempt a pick toward 2d, without any further step or other ado, 'cause he's still an infielder and hasn't assumed a position on the rubber yet. Don't care if his free foot is "in the divot" or 12 inches in front of the rubber - no difference Rules-wise. About that "deception": it's a balk if it violates a Rule and is deceptive: if it's deceptive and violates none of the pitching Rules, IT"S GOOD PITCHING. |
|
|||
|
RH pitcher facing 3b, left front on the front edge of the rubber, right foot 15 inches behind the rubber. Any runner fooled by that is not paying attention. He can't pitch from that position. Can't see a balk for attempting a putout.
|
|
|||
|
Engaged or not?
Now that I'm told he's facing third, I'm thinking...
If he's not considered engaged with his left foot on the rubber, then I guess he's just an infielder and can do whatever. If he is deemed to have engaged the rubber with his left foot... 1.) You give him the FED balk for not engaging the rubber with his throwing side's foot. Cbfoulds, if his left foot is ON the rubber, I'm not sure that's the same as straddling the rubber. This doesn't seem to be a case of a guy just getting comfortable into his stretch position, where he can do a a little funky footwork. The OP says the guy "mounted" the rubber (insert sex joke here). |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| I left one out there | Adam | Basketball | 18 | Sun Dec 16, 2007 04:15pm |
| Where did they go? They left ref!!! | Tweet | Basketball | 5 | Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:56pm |
| No time out left, or do I | tjchamp | Basketball | 89 | Thu Nov 23, 2006 09:35pm |
| One game left | stmaryrams | Basketball | 1 | Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:39am |
| Left Out To Dry | tmp44 | Basketball | 8 | Wed Feb 02, 2005 09:00am |