The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
left foot

One3 of my umpire feiends had a game and for some reason this is the position the pitcher took when there was a runner on second base. Right hand pitcher, mounted the rubber with his left foot int the hole in front of the rubber,his right foot about 15 inches towards second and attempted a pick off at second. he called a balk. was he right??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by asaron View Post
One3 of my umpire feiends had a game and for some reason this is the position the pitcher took when there was a runner on second base. Right hand pitcher, mounted the rubber with his left foot int the hole in front of the rubber,his right foot about 15 inches towards second and attempted a pick off at second. he called a balk. was he right??
I am not sure the I am envisioning this correctly, so let me explain what I see (in my mind). On the line down the center of the field I see:

PU
F2
HP
Edge of mound
F1's left foot "in" the rubber (hole in-front of)
Rubber
F1's right foot
2B

(Edit: F1 is still facing 3B as a righty)
If this is right, then I would say on 1st glance, that he is merely straddling the rubber, and is subject to those restrictions, but with the foot in the rubber, I see attempted deception and cause for a balk. I will have to go for further review before giving a complete answer.
__________________
Ump Rube
-----------------------------------------------------
Ump (uhmp) shorted form; an official in a sport who rules on plays.
Rube (roob) slang; sports fan who listens to KFAN in Minneapolis, MN.

Last edited by Ump Rube; Fri Jul 17, 2009 at 03:06pm. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ump Rube View Post
I am not sure the I am envisioning this correctly, so let me explain what I see (in my mind). On the line down the center of the field I see:

PU
F2
HP
Edge of mound
F1's left foot "in" the rubber (hole in-front of)
Rubber
F1's right foot
2B

(Edit: F1 is still facing 3B as a righty)
If this is right, then I would say on 1st glance, that he is merely straddling the rubber, and is subject to those restrictions, but with the foot in the rubber, I see attempted deception and cause for a balk. I will have to go for further review before giving a complete answer.
"Attempted deception" is NEVER "cause for a balk"!!! LOSE that idea forever.

What you have described [and i THINK what the OP describes] is F1 straddling the rubber [assuming, as you and I do, that he is facing 3d base]. Nothing sinister about that; and yes, he can attempt a pick toward 2d, without any further step or other ado, 'cause he's still an infielder and hasn't assumed a position on the rubber yet. Don't care if his free foot is "in the divot" or 12 inches in front of the rubber - no difference Rules-wise.

About that "deception": it's a balk if it violates a Rule and is deceptive: if it's deceptive and violates none of the pitching Rules, IT"S GOOD PITCHING.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 10:27pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
RH pitcher facing 3b, left front on the front edge of the rubber, right foot 15 inches behind the rubber. Any runner fooled by that is not paying attention. He can't pitch from that position. Can't see a balk for attempting a putout.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 18, 2009, 01:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Medford, Oregon
Posts: 19
Engaged or not?

Now that I'm told he's facing third, I'm thinking...

If he's not considered engaged with his left foot on the rubber, then I guess he's just an infielder and can do whatever.

If he is deemed to have engaged the rubber with his left foot...

1.) You give him the FED balk for not engaging the rubber with his throwing side's foot.

Cbfoulds, if his left foot is ON the rubber, I'm not sure that's the same as straddling the rubber. This doesn't seem to be a case of a guy just getting comfortable into his stretch position, where he can do a a little funky footwork. The OP says the guy "mounted" the rubber (insert sex joke here).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by asaron View Post
One3 of my umpire feiends had a game and for some reason this is the position the pitcher took when there was a runner on second base. Right hand pitcher, mounted the rubber with his left foot int the hole in front of the rubber,his right foot about 15 inches towards second and attempted a pick off at second. he called a balk. was he right??
That is too obvious to be construed as deceiving the runner. If after engaging the rubber and he spins toward 2B on his free foot, I can see a balk called. If his pivot foot was much closer such as 1 or 2 inches, then he spins on his free foot. I can see a balk then.

But, to call one before he even "toes" the rubber and it is obvious to all that he is not on the rubber. I just don't see this as being a balk.

Bad mechanics maybe, but not a balk. If even going by the idea of deception, who is he deceiving? I have no balk and an out if the runner gets caught by such a bad move.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Medford, Oregon
Posts: 19
Thumbs down earlier thread

This was discussed in an earlier thread on here.

With the runner at 2B, the right handed pitcher set up as a left-hander, with his left foot on the rubber. In the stretch position, he was facing 1st base, with his left foot on the rubber. No way he could pitch this way.

He then came set and picked to 2nd base.
Balk.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 17, 2009, 04:59pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex7 View Post
This was discussed in an earlier thread on here.

With the runner at 2B, the right handed pitcher set up as a left-hander, with his left foot on the rubber. In the stretch position, he was facing 1st base, with his left foot on the rubber. No way he could pitch this way.

He then came set and picked to 2nd base.
Balk.
Alex, he is describing the pitcher facing third base, with his left foot in the groove in front of the rubber, and his pivot foot 15 inches behind the rubber towards 2nd base. I am envisioning the pitcher just snapping a throw without any step at all, while engaged with the rubber with the wrong foot. I also think it is an illegal attempt to deceive the runner by intentionally contacting the pitcher's plate and simulating a pitching position.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 18, 2009, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
I also think it is an illegal attempt to deceive the runner by intentionally contacting the pitcher's plate and simulating a pitching position.
No rule prohibits simulating a pitching position. 8.05(g) prohibits simulating a pitching motion while off the rubber. ("It is a balk when...The pitcher makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch while he is not touching the pitcher’s plate.")

If F1 has the ball, he may straddle the rubber. No balk. As with any other pitch, he is subject to the time limit between pitches.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 22, 2009, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Far south Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 43
Works when ump doesn't notice

Yes, this is a balk. Pivot foot must be the foot touching the rubber. For a right-handed pitcher the pivot foot is the right foot!!

This is a trick I used to have my pitchers pull when the opposing team had a fast runner with a big lead-off at 2nd base. We picked off a few. Our right-handed pitcher would face 1st base and go to the set-position with his left-foot on the rubber, then he would throw straight back to second base. Umpires or the opposing team never noticed the deception. I'd call the play from the dugout, code word was "Convertible". It worked great and I never had a balk called. I had opposing pitchers after the game ask for me to teach them that great move. (I never did) One umpire at a tourney who umped 3 of our games finally noticed the deception, but he didn't know if it was a balk or not.

Just recently when taking my state high school umpire's test did I learn it was a balk!!

Last edited by kheisner; Wed Jul 22, 2009 at 09:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 22, 2009, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by kheisner View Post
Yes, this is a balk. Pivot foot must be the foot touching the rubber. For a right-handed pitcher the pivot foot is the right foot!!

This is a trick I used to have my pitchers pull when the opposing team had a fast runner with a big lead-off at 2nd base. We picked off a few. Our right-handed pitcher would face 1st base and go to the set-position with his left-foot on the rubber, then he would throw straight back to second base. Umpires or the opposing team never noticed the deception. I'd call the play from the dugout, code word was "Convertible". It worked great and I never had a balk called. I had opposing pitchers after the game ask for me to teach them that great move. (I never did) One umpire at a tourney who umped 3 of our games finally noticed the deception, but he didn't know if it was a balk or not.

Just recently when taking my state high school umpire's test did I learn it was a balk!!
1st: You are an idiot. I hope you will not umpire with the same attitude and ignorance you coached.
2d: Your umpires were clueless: congratulations.
3d: The reason what your pitcher did was a balk had nothing to do with this thread. He simulated a pitching motion [coming "set"] while not legally in contact with the rubber. Where his non-pivot foot was, or which foot was in [incidental] contact with the rubber really does not matter very much.
4th: the act described in the OP [RHP, straddling the rubber, facing (roughly) 3d base, "free" foot in the crater infront of the rubber (and incidentally touching the front edge), hands at his side] IS NOT a balk because it violates none of the pitching regs which define what a balk is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I left one out there Adam Basketball 18 Sun Dec 16, 2007 04:15pm
Where did they go? They left ref!!! Tweet Basketball 5 Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:56pm
No time out left, or do I tjchamp Basketball 89 Thu Nov 23, 2006 09:35pm
One game left stmaryrams Basketball 1 Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:39am
Left Out To Dry tmp44 Basketball 8 Wed Feb 02, 2005 09:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1