![]() |
|
|
|||
I believe 7.08(b) applies here. The BR intentionally interfered with a thrown ball. It does not say if there is a play or not. And, BR is a runner since it was ball 4. So, BR is out for intentional INT on a thrown ball. Even though a pitched ball is treated differently in some cases, I don't believe this is one of them.
So, I still have BR out but for violating the first part of 7.08(b) regardless if there was a play or not on anyone else. And, if it wasn't ball 4, then he would be out for BI, rule 6.06(c) if there was a potential play anywhere(this is where I think weak INT would come in). Basically, he is out for doing it under one of these rules. And even if no runners are on base, he can still be out in this situation since he is a runner intentionally INT with a thrown ball although I won't make that call. He needs to just learn to leave the ball alone.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
okay, so lets take this a step further. R3 takes off and is going to be dead at home...B/R picks up the ball, would we ever have a situation like this (similar to OP) where R3 is out or do we still call B/R out and send R3 back to 3B?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
So, I would have INT on BR with him out and R3 goes back to 3B.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
I think if you deemed the BR actions prevented the defense from making a play to record an out then call him out. It you deem otherwise, don't.
With less than 2 outs, I would call out the runner closest to home who was advancing. If runners were not advancing seriously and you deem no play to be made then dead ball as soon as it was touched by BR and tell him don't do that anymore. I had something similar happen this year, one of the two situations that I questioned my interpretation. In my case on deck batter picked up loose ball on a ball 4. R1 went to 2nd and was not trying to advance to 3rd. Defense wanted an out, I did not agree. Last edited by DG; Fri Jun 26, 2009 at 06:28pm. |
|
|||
![]()
I concur with DG and bob jenkins.
The defense actually has to be deprived ("hindered") of an opportunity to get an out. If, at the time the knucklehead picked up the ball there was no such opportunity, there is no out to be had. Not that you couldn't get away with calling one, as chitownvet did. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
There doesn't have to be a play for intentional INT (7.08(b)) to be called. I would agree to not make an out call unless there is the possibility of a play somewhere. Which chi clarified there possibly could have been one at 3B. Saves headaches.
But, with the intentional INT, I believe an umpire is justified to make an out call even if there is no play. This would definitely stop that stupid gesture quickly. No play = no out. Play = out on someone.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
There must be SOME kind of play SOMEWHERE, or the defense hasn't been hindered.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batter Hitting Ball while out of Box | tibear | Baseball | 3 | Mon May 26, 2008 11:23am |
Batter catches ball | FTVMartin | Baseball | 7 | Sat Apr 21, 2007 08:54pm |
Ball on the batter? | Rachel | Softball | 37 | Wed Aug 24, 2005 07:07am |
ball hits batter | cards2323 | Baseball | 2 | Tue May 10, 2005 10:48am |
Batter hit by batted ball | mcpdk9 | Softball | 9 | Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:08am |