The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 07:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I recently called a balk on an illegal jab-type step. The sequence was:

1. Pivot foot comes off rubber and plants on 3B side of rubber.
2. Throw to 1B.
3. Free foot steps toward 1B.

I explained to F1 (he was an adult) that the step to 1B must precede the throw to 1B. Naturally he disagreed. Fortunately, he didn't do the move again, and R2, who was formerly R1, never became R3.
I would balk him for the first step as it was forward of the plate .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ump29 View Post
I would balk him for the first step as it was forward of the plate .
As part of a legal jab step he's good.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ump29 View Post
I would balk him for the first step as it was forward of the plate .
Ump29,

That would be an incorrect balk call.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 116
When I read the description of the Set Position in OBR , I read that the pitcher can only disengage by stepping back off the rubber . Therefore by stepping forward or to the side would be illegal and therefore a balk.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ump29 View Post
When I read the description of the Set Position in OBR , I read that the pitcher can only disengage by stepping back off the rubber . Therefore by stepping forward or to the side would be illegal and therefore a balk.
The jab step and jump step are both legal moves at all levels. These are part of a pickoff move, and so not subject to the restrictions on disengaging.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 08:56pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The jab step and jump step are both legal moves at all levels. These are part of a pickoff move, and so not subject to the restrictions on disengaging.
I have yet to see the jab step described in FED or NCAA rules or casebooks, but I can find a reference to it in J/R. If you have FED or NCAA reference I would love to know where. I am not disagreeing that it's legal, just can't find proof.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Ump29,

If the pitcher were attempting to disengage, it would indeed be an illegal disengage and a balk with runners on base.

However, he was not attempting to disengage. He was initiating a pick-off move to 1B and he violated none of the balk proscriptions in doing so.

From the MLBUM:

Quote:
(i) It is legal for a right-handed pitcher to begin a pick-off move to first base by first moving his (pivot) foot in the direction of third base provided that he makes a legal step toward first base with the non-pivot foot before throwing there and provided that the move is continuous and without interruption. A pitcher who makes such a pick-off move is considered to be in contact with the rubber when he makes his throw to first base.
This interpretation is accepted at ALL levels.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 16, 2009, 08:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Ump29,

If the pitcher were attempting to disengage, it would indeed be an illegal disengage and a balk with runners on base.

However, he was not attempting to disengage. He was initiating a pick-off move to 1B and he violated none of the balk proscriptions in doing so.

From the MLBUM:



This interpretation is accepted at ALL levels.

JM
Thank you all for your input. The "jab step" is really what the pitcher has been doing, with a clear description of it quoted above. And as I was reading through the NFHS rules last night (I don't have them infront of me now to reference), it stated that a pitcher could make a step with their pivot foot toward third, and then legally step with their free/non-pivot foot toward first and throw. So I guess I have found my correct answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitching changes Duke Softball 4 Tue May 19, 2009 04:09pm
Pitching blindjeepracer Softball 8 Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:03pm
Pitching surehands Softball 1 Sun Apr 05, 2009 10:29am
Pitching sm_bbcoach Baseball 3 Mon Jun 20, 2005 12:31am
Pitching Gozer Baseball 19 Sat May 28, 2005 01:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1