The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Pitching clarification (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53654-pitching-clarification.html)

aschramm Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:51pm

Pitching clarification
 
I'll preface this post by saying that probably my hardest rule to grasp right now deals with balks pitching regulations.

I've had alot of situations this year, where say R1 is leading off and the right-handed pitcher is working from the set position. The pitcher lifts and steps towards third with his pivot foot, then steps toward first with his non-pivot foot and throws the ball to check the runner. I would think this move would be considered the 'jump turn' that is mentioned in 6-1-3 (FED rules).

Is this move completely legal?

UmpJM Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:58pm

aschraam,

There are two variations on this move. What you are describing sounds more like a "jab step" than a "jump turn".

Both are legal in all codes as long as none of the other balk proscriptions is violated.

The ones most likely to occur that would make it a balk are:

1. The pitcher fails to gain "distance and direction" with his free foot on the step to 1B.

2. The pitcher "hesitates" at some point while executing the move.

I balked a RHP over the weekend for making a jab step move to 1B and failing to throw. Because it is considered a throw "from the rubber" even though the pivot comes off the rubber prior to the throw.

JM

umpjim Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:30am

Check out the CWS for no distance and direction, never mind the 45, for no balk calls that should be called.

UmpJM Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:34am

umpjim,

While I understand you are upset about this, I don't really see what it has to do with aschramm's question.

JM

zm1283 Tue Jun 16, 2009 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by aschramm (Post 609093)
I'll preface this post by saying that probably my hardest rule to grasp right now deals with balks pitching regulations.

I've had alot of situations this year, where say R1 is leading off and the right-handed pitcher is working from the set position. The pitcher lifts and steps towards third with his pivot foot, then steps toward first with his non-pivot foot and throws the ball to check the runner. I would think this move would be considered the 'jump turn' that is mentioned in 6-1-3 (FED rules).

Is this move completely legal?

Are you talking about when there are runners on 1st and 3rd and the pitcher steps toward third with his non-pivot foot, then turns to check the runner at first? That is completely legal as long as he gains ground toward 3rd. He doesn't have to throw to either base with that move either.

In the situation you describe it sounds like a balk. Why would the pitcher step toward third with no runner there? If there's just a runner on first and the pitcher steps toward third, I'm calling a balk.

SAump Tue Jun 16, 2009 01:13am

Different Move Altogether
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 609113)
Are you talking about when there are runners on 1st and 3rd and the pitcher steps toward third with his non-pivot foot, then turns to check the runner at first? That is completely legal as long as he gains ground toward 3rd. He doesn't have to throw to either base with that move either.

In the situation you describe it sounds like a balk. Why would the pitcher step toward third with no runner there? If there's just a runner on first and the pitcher steps toward third, I'm calling a balk.

I too think he is describing a quick jab step which is a competely legal.
Pitchers are very comfortable with this move.

zm1283 Tue Jun 16, 2009 02:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump (Post 609114)
I too think he is describing a quick jab step which is a competely legal.
Pitchers are very comfortable with this move.

Okay. I guess we were thinking different things.

Anyone have a better description of this? I know I've seen it, but it's hard to picture in my head.

Hock9 Tue Jun 16, 2009 05:38am

let me try
 
Sounds like, as a RHP, his right foot first moves slightly towards 3rd (the jab) for the purpose of then turning his body to the left and stepping with his left foot toward first to make the throw. This is legal since, while his first move is with his pivot foot, it's to enable him to turn a bit to his left to then enable him to step to first with his left foot. (If we made him keep his right foot totally motionless, he'd screw it and his knee into the ground when trying to throw to first).

Does that help (hope I'm not off base here, no pun intended)?

dash_riprock Tue Jun 16, 2009 06:13am

The jab step and jump turn are very similar. With the jab step, the pivot foot moves first toward 3rd, followed immediately by a step toward 1st with the free foot. With the jump turn, both feet move simultaneously, but generally wind up in the same place as the jab step.

Both moves are legal, but neither entails stepping off legally. F1 remains engaged (even if his pivot foot comes off the rubber) and he must throw to 1st.

mbyron Tue Jun 16, 2009 07:05am

I recently called a balk on an illegal jab-type step. The sequence was:

1. Pivot foot comes off rubber and plants on 3B side of rubber.
2. Throw to 1B.
3. Free foot steps toward 1B.

I explained to F1 (he was an adult) that the step to 1B must precede the throw to 1B. Naturally he disagreed. Fortunately, he didn't do the move again, and R2, who was formerly R1, never became R3. ;)

Ump29 Tue Jun 16, 2009 07:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 609132)
I recently called a balk on an illegal jab-type step. The sequence was:

1. Pivot foot comes off rubber and plants on 3B side of rubber.
2. Throw to 1B.
3. Free foot steps toward 1B.

I explained to F1 (he was an adult) that the step to 1B must precede the throw to 1B. Naturally he disagreed. Fortunately, he didn't do the move again, and R2, who was formerly R1, never became R3. ;)

I would balk him for the first step as it was forward of the plate .

mbyron Tue Jun 16, 2009 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump29 (Post 609134)
I would balk him for the first step as it was forward of the plate .

As part of a legal jab step he's good.

UmpJM Tue Jun 16, 2009 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump29 (Post 609134)
I would balk him for the first step as it was forward of the plate .

Ump29,

That would be an incorrect balk call.

JM

Ump29 Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:13am

When I read the description of the Set Position in OBR , I read that the pitcher can only disengage by stepping back off the rubber . Therefore by stepping forward or to the side would be illegal and therefore a balk.

mbyron Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump29 (Post 609200)
When I read the description of the Set Position in OBR , I read that the pitcher can only disengage by stepping back off the rubber . Therefore by stepping forward or to the side would be illegal and therefore a balk.

The jab step and jump step are both legal moves at all levels. These are part of a pickoff move, and so not subject to the restrictions on disengaging.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1