![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Let's assume a play, since I never said there wasn't. All I posted was that the ball was overthrown to the pitcher covering. Perhaps it would have gone all the way down the line giving the runner a chance to score from third had the batter not picked it up or perhaps the runner had rounded third and was part way down the line prior to the ball being picked up by the batter right in front of the third baseman.
I wasn't there so I don't have direct knowledge of where the other fielders and the other base runner were but let's say there may have been a potential play that was short-circuited by the batter and re-visit your rulings.
__________________
Craig |
|
|||
|
falsecut,
If no one on the defense has possession of the ball and there is not a throw on the way from one member of the defense to another, there is no play. So, if the batter picks up a ball that is lying on the ground, there cannot be a play. J/R refers to it as "interference without a play". Call time, return runners, let the batter know he really shouldn't ought to do that, and get things going again. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
If it still doesn't make sense, then I'm going to quit while I'm ahead (or maybe it's behind). This puts me at three posts today already, way over my usual once a quarter pace.
__________________
Craig |
|
|||
|
Craig,
Let's make it simple: 1. If play continues (Runners are still advancing) call time, batter out for interference & return runners to last legally obtained base. 2. Play is relaxed (IE: nothing more is happening) call time, advise batter (how strong the advice may be depends on age) & move on. |
|
|||
|
If there is a play possible on R2, then call "Time" and R2 is out for his teammates INT(Rule 7.11). Not the batter b/c BI does not apply anymore. BI relates to a catcher's initial play or throw. All BI rulings I have ever heard or seen relate to the catcher's initial play or throw. At this point, he is considered an offensive teammate and not the batter at this point. For this point, think of it this way. What if the on deck batter did it? What kind of INT would be called at that point? Rule 7.11 would apply there too. So, why wouldn't it apply here as well?
If there is no play possible on R2, then call "Time" and put R2 back on 3B. Then, tell the batter not to do that again with a warning(if you choose). Of course, if R2 has already crossed or is within the immediate vicinity of HP and no play is possible, then I would score the run as well and tell the batter not to do that for future reference.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Base coach picks up ball | bossman72 | Baseball | 8 | Wed Apr 23, 2008 07:52am |
| Live Ball Treated as Dead Ball Foul | GPC2 | Football | 9 | Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:04am |
| Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
| LIVE BALL/ DEAD BALL INFO | johnfox | Basketball | 1 | Mon Oct 08, 2001 12:44pm |