The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 209
How can I prove this?

FED rules. #2 is the DH batting for #25. #2 reaches second base. I want to enter #25 to pinch run for #2. I ask to make sure that I can re-enter #2 the next time the spot in the lineup comes up and then still have a re-entry for #25 since he is also a starter. PU told me to show him in the rule book (which he has to allow in our state) that I could do that and he would allow it. I know both players have a re-entry since they are starters, but I could not find a place that would convince them that I was right. Can anyone give me a rule reference to use to show this in the future?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
#25 is a starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
FED rules. #2 is the DH batting for #25. #2 reaches second base. I want to enter #25 to pinch run for #2. I ask to make sure that I can re-enter #2 the next time the spot in the lineup comes up and then still have a re-entry for #25 since he is also a starter. PU told me to show him in the rule book (which he has to allow in our state) that I could do that and he would allow it. I know both players have a re-entry since they are starters, but I could not find a place that would convince them that I was right. Can anyone give me a rule reference to use to show this in the future?

Thanks
He cannot pinch run for the DH.
His name should not be listed as a sub on the line-up card.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sat May 16, 2009 at 05:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
If the defensive player hits or runs for the DH then the DH role is finished. If you allow #25 to run, #2 is no longer DH for him. If you bring back #2, #25 cannot play defense. You now have EITHER #2 or #25 in the game, but no longer both.

This is not a substitution as in bringing in #4 to DH rather than #2.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 06:21pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Case book 3.1.4 Situation C: F4, for whom the DH is batting, pinch hits or pinch runs for the DH. RULING: The DH position is eliminated for the remainder of the game. However, the starting DH could re-enter as a player but not in the role of DH. If the does re-enter, he must re-enter in the same position in the batting order, replacing F4.

That covers part of your question but not whether F4 can re-enter but seems logical since he has only left the game once and he was a starter.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 07:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Case book 3.1.4 Situation C: F4, for whom the DH is batting, pinch hits or pinch runs for the DH. RULING: The DH position is eliminated for the remainder of the game. However, the starting DH could re-enter as a player but not in the role of DH. If the does re-enter, he must re-enter in the same position in the batting order, replacing F4.

That covers part of your question but not whether F4 can re-enter but seems logical since he has only left the game once and he was a starter.

There's also a FED interp from several years ago that alloows both starters to re-enter -- just as the OP wanted to do.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 08:17pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
There's also a FED interp from several years ago that alloows both starters to re-enter -- just as the OP wanted to do.
But that's an old interp though right?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 16, 2009, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chasing the dream
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
How can I prove this?

You can't.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just to prove that Clinicians don't know all... TussAgee11 Baseball 13 Fri Jan 26, 2007 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1