![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Thank you. Unless he is OBVIOUSLY way out of the box, call it foul and sell the crap out of it.
|
|
|||
|
No it's not incorrect, and my comment about splitting hairs was referring to what the poster earlier had said, not the OP.
|
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=UMP25;602527]No it's not incorrect,QUOTE]
I'm not arguing about it - yours are the only posts that say anything about where some given part of the body is when that part of the body gets hit. Nothing in the rule book says anything about that. It breaks down when a batter is no longer in the batter's box, period. |
|
|||
|
Except that explanation refers to when he hits an illegally batted ball and how to correctly interpret "out of the batter's box." For batter interference when he hits the ball fair and the ball hits him in fair territory, there's nothing said about being in or out of the box. In fact, let's take a look at the very succint wording of the rule:
6.05 - A batter is out when: (g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder Note that it says "his fair ball." When a batter hits a ball that contacts him in the batter's box, we, by official interpretation, rule it a foul ball. So how can this both be a foul ball and, according to what you say JE says, also be a fair ball/batter's out? It can't. The word I received from official sources was as I explained earlier. If his fair batted ball hits him in the box, it's a foul ball; if it hits him outside the box, it's interference, dead, etc. When I double-checked on the in the box/out of the box explanation, I was told, "wherever that part of his body was when hit determines whether he is out or if it is a foul ball." |
|
|||
|
Technically correct?
But I would not be splitting hairs if I do point out that those words do matter if one were to look up the exact definition of a fair or foul batted ball.
The correct ruling regards a batted ball redirecting from the ground into the B/R or B/R's bat. It is ruled a foul ball just prior to hitting the B/R outside of the batter's box in these situations. This is the case of the swinging shot directly into the B/R's lower left leg while over fair territory. The B/R is ruled out much more often for running into a fair "bunted" ball bounding in front of the plate. The batter's box is not a refuge and He does not have the right to a direct path to the nearest base through the bounding baseball. The runner must avoid contact with the batted ball. The same ruling would apply to any runner contacting a baseball while over fair territory.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sat May 16, 2009 at 07:47pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I don't think I could look the coach in the eye w/ a straight face and tell him that "well, you know, 13% of the batter's box is in fair territory...therefore..."
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Batters Box | rottiron01 | Softball | 1 | Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:13pm |
| Where did my batters box go??? | baldgriff | Softball | 4 | Mon Mar 27, 2006 08:22pm |
| Batters box | Roger Bridges | Softball | 13 | Sun Jan 02, 2005 08:50am |
| Out of Batters Box | CD_Ump | Softball | 9 | Wed Jun 09, 2004 05:54am |
| Batters box | TERRY1 | Softball | 11 | Wed Apr 17, 2002 12:02pm |