![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
an unreported sub isn't necessarily an illegal sub correct?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
True, and I understand the difference. Roder's ruling just seems more like what might be expected in Fed but not in NCAA or OBR. I do know that if you have an illegal sub who, say, improperly pinch runs for someone, when he's discovered he's ejected, but to call someone out as appears to be the recommendation by J/R seems odd.
So let's say you have someone from the bench who's an illegal sub, and he gets a double. If you call him out upon being discovered, how would you make that ruling? If Fred is an illegal sub who batted in the 8th spot for William (who's followed by Simon in the 9th spot), do you rule it a batting out of order? Do you rule William out on an unassisted putout and then have Simon come to bat? Or do you rule Fred out and have Simon come to bat? Interesting questions for OBR interps. here. |
|
|||
|
I don't think it's BOO unless it's truly BOO...an illegal sub is in X spot in the lineup...if that's illegal, we'd have BOO. We do agree that it's not illegal simply because the sub didn't report...we're talking a previous pinch hitter/runner, some type of DH situation where the DH should be terminated and he hits...something like that...
Don't have OBR w/ me today...will look tonight
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Oh, I agree with the notion that it's not BOO. I was just throwing out questions for consideration, that's all. BOO can only be when one batter in the lineup bats in the wrong spot in the order, which we don't have here.
Let's make this illegal sub as follows: In the 4th inning of an OBR game, Fred batted for William in a straight-up substitution situation. As we know, OBR doesn't allow for re-entry (no home rule exception here, btw), so William's done. In the 7th inning, Fred's supposed to be up, as he was the pinch hitter as stated. However, William comes up and doubles. Now we have an "illegal sub." Roder's saying call William out and eject him. Evans is saying the double stands but William is ejected. If we follow the J/R ruling, how are we going to "classify" this? That's why I asked those questions above. I'm simply curious to see what the thinking of guys here might be. |
|
|||
|
Under the Evans interp...the amateur leagues that we work...it might be worth the risk if the hit and all runs that score would be upheld even though William's is illegally hitting...do you trade an ejection for a state championship? I know some adult teams that would do that...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Batting out of order | Hoosier_Dave | Softball | 10 | Fri Jul 14, 2006 03:28pm |
| batting out of order? | fan | Softball | 22 | Wed May 31, 2006 03:15pm |
| batting out of order | scyguy | Baseball | 10 | Sun May 08, 2005 08:28pm |
| Batting out of order | rwest | Softball | 18 | Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:16am |
| batting out of order | klp3515 | Baseball | 5 | Wed May 07, 2003 12:34pm |