The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Batting out of order

OBR I know the basics of the BOO rule, but have a slightly different situation. This has not happened to me, but wondering.

A25 should be the batter, but A30 (who is not in the game)comes to the plate. He does not tell the umpire that he is pinch-hitting for A25, just gets in the box and singles. At this point what can the defense do? Is anyone out?

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Mike51,

That's an "unannounced sub". If the sub had eligibility to enter and had not earlier batted in a different spot in the order, it's perfectly legal.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Mike51,

That's an "unannounced sub". If the sub had eligibility to enter and had not earlier batted in a different spot in the order, it's perfectly legal.

JM
And, even if he was not eligible to enter, it's still a sub. Under OBR (per the OP), the hit stands, the original player is out of the game, and the illegal sub is removed from base, a legal sub is put in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
And, even if he was not eligible to enter, it's still a sub. Under OBR (per the OP), the hit stands, the original player is out of the game, and the illegal sub is removed from base, a legal sub is put in.
This is one of the very few Evans interpretations that I do not agree with. I follow the Roder - J/R interp for this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 09:51pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
This is one of the very few Evans interpretations that I do not agree with. I follow the Roder - J/R interp for this situation.
This is not in response to the OP? Correct?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 09:58pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
This is one of the very few Evans interpretations that I do not agree with. I follow the Roder - J/R interp for this situation.
Would like more info on diff between JEA and J/R. I would be inclined to go with Evans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 10:04pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Evans is working on his new Annotated...looking forward to that
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 11:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG View Post
Would like more info on diff between JEA and J/R. I would be inclined to go with Evans.
Ok let's use an example play:

R1, R2. An illegal sub enters the game and hits a bases clearing double. It is then discovered by the umpires that he is an illegal sub:

Roder's ruling: Call out the illegal sub and eject him. Return R1 and R2. The original player subbed for cannot re-enter.

Evan's ruling: The play stands despite the actions of the illegal sub. Both runs score. The illegal sub is ejected (not called out) and is replaced on base with a new sub.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 09:17am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
If A30 is legally in the game, in that spot in the order it's nothing. Simply record the substitution. A substitution is completed and the player is considered as having entered the game when the manager or is designee notifies the plate umpire of the substitution. If no such notification is made, the player shall be considered as having entered the game when:

1. If a pitcher; he takes his place on the pitcher's plate prior to delivering a pitch
2. If a batter; he takes his place in the batter's box
3. If a fielder; he reaches the position usually occupied by the fielder has has replaced, and play commences
4. If a runner; he takes the place of the runner he has replaced
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 151
J08,your mention of the pitcher reminds of a scenario I have seen every now and then at the youth level (which usually plays some sort of modified OBR). Between innings, one of the other fielders may step on the rubber and pitch a warm-up pitch as a "joke." Twice I have had an opposing coach argue that the "new" pitcher must now pitch to the first batter and the "replaced" pitcher is done.

Both times I told the coach that 1) the ball was never made live, and 2) it would count against the regular pitcher's warmup time/pitches, but that was it.

Neither argued it more than that, though if pushed I was going to say the rules do allow the pitcher to go to another position once per inning and return, and they just did that, in effect. That doesn't address any requirement to pitch to another batter though.

Just wondering if there was another way to handle that.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
J08,your mention of the pitcher reminds of a scenario I have seen every now and then at the youth level (which usually plays some sort of modified OBR). Between innings, one of the other fielders may step on the rubber and pitch a warm-up pitch as a "joke." Twice I have had an opposing coach argue that the "new" pitcher must now pitch to the first batter and the "replaced" pitcher is done.

Both times I told the coach that 1) the ball was never made live, and 2) it would count against the regular pitcher's warmup time/pitches, but that was it.

Neither argued it more than that, though if pushed I was going to say the rules do allow the pitcher to go to another position once per inning and return, and they just did that, in effect. That doesn't address any requirement to pitch to another batter though.

Just wondering if there was another way to handle that.
In LL rules, technically the coaches were correct. In OBR just taking a position on the rubber is enough. It's probably one of those things you "didn't see" though.

In OBR/LL there is no provision (as there is in FED) that the ball be live on an unannounced pitching substitution.

You shouldn't count it against the pitcher's 8 warm-ups. The real pitcher gets 8 pitches or one munute.

In most 12U youth ball a pitcher who leaves pitching cannot return to pitch.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 07, 2009, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
If a fielder; he reaches the position usually occupied by the fielder has has replaced, and play commences
According to one of Luciano's books, this part was added the year after (I think it was) Billy Martin protested a game. It was when the DH rule had just come in and the opponent's DH went out to catch the pitcher's warm-up throws while the regular catcher was getting his gear on. Billy wanted the DH to be officially in the game at that point.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 08, 2009, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
OK, here's one for you. OBR...

The # 3 hitter Johnny is up to bat with a 1-1 count. He takes strike 2 and the defensive manager goes out to talk to his pitcher. After he's done with his trip, there's a new batter at the plate, the # 4 hitter Billy. Apparently, Johnny believed he had struck out. Billy takes a strike when the defensive manager now brings this to the attention of the home plate umpire.

Have fun with this one!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batting out of order Hoosier_Dave Softball 10 Fri Jul 14, 2006 03:28pm
batting out of order? fan Softball 22 Wed May 31, 2006 03:15pm
batting out of order scyguy Baseball 10 Sun May 08, 2005 08:28pm
Batting out of order rwest Softball 18 Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:16am
batting out of order klp3515 Baseball 5 Wed May 07, 2003 12:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1