The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 38
Relaxed/Unrelaxed

The terms refer to the status of the runner upon whom the appeal is being made. If the runner is making an attempt to return to the bag after missing it then a tag must be applied. If the runner is not attempting to return then the action is unrelaxed and the base can be touched and a verbal appeal made.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armadillo_Blue View Post
The terms refer to the status of the runner upon whom the appeal is being made. If the runner is making an attempt to return to the bag after missing it then a tag must be applied. If the runner is not attempting to return then the action is unrelaxed and the base can be touched and a verbal appeal made.
If this is correct, and I do not believe it is, then why do we allow the live ball appeal of a runner leaving early to be decided by the ball simply being returned to the base ahead of the runner? Per your ruling the defense would be required to tag the runner and not just return the ball to the base.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 11:45am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
isn't there something in the rule where there's the 'obvious' factor where there's a retouch obligation versus simply just missing a base?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 396
either way aren't they both appeals?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 12:11pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
they are, but you eliminate the accidental appeal
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Durham View Post
If this is correct, and I do not believe it is, then why do we allow the live ball appeal of a runner leaving early to be decided by the ball simply being returned to the base ahead of the runner? Per your ruling the defense would be required to tag the runner and not just return the ball to the base.
If you read what I wrote, the concept is a concept applied to a runner returning to a base missed. The concept does not apply to leaving early on a fly ball.

The most common usage of the relaxed/unrelaxed concept is the play at home where the runner misses the plate and the fielder misses the tag. Technically the runner has missed home so by rule the catcher could just step on the plate and announce an appeal. In practice, however, if the runner is scrambling back toward the plate we require a tag of the runner for an out. This would be unrelaxed action.

If, however the runner starts walking towards the dugout, making no attempt to correct his error, this is unrelaxed action. In this instance we do not require the catcher to chase down the runner, but instead allow him to step on the plate and appeal the miss.

Although most often seen at home, this concept can be applied equally to other bases, i.e. a runner slides around second and then scrambles back towards it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
Consider this:
C. time please.
U. sorry coach, you can't make a second trip.
C. I'm pulling him, get my lefty.
U. Okay.

I'm thinking that's a legal substitution and not a trip.
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike View Post
Consider this:
C. time please.
U. sorry coach, you can't make a second trip.
C. I'm pulling him, get my lefty.
U. Okay.

I'm thinking that's a legal substitution and not a trip.
Can't happen during the same at bat that he took the trip. (unless F1 is injured)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
ManinBlue is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 18, 2009, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
~Sigh~

Why do people try to cover for nothing more than an error?

It is basic:

Quote:
"Whether you consider it a "visit" or not is irrelevant. A manager/coach cannot make a second trip to the same pitcher while the same batter is at bat. Period. Furthermore, the manager/coach cannot try to circumvent this by just changing his pitcher, even if he does so from the dugout. The at-bat must be completed before the already-visited pitcher can be removed (absent injury or substitute).

"The crew working this game didn't disagree; they simply f---ed up."
I am amazed people know little about basic rules.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 18, 2009, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Amen, Tim! Sometimes I think I'm talking to a wall. This rule is not that difficult to comprehend.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 18, 2009, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 230
My understanding is he threw 10 straight balls that weren't even close. I bet the manager came out and told the crew "Something is wrong with my pitcher but he won't tell me. Can I take him out now so it won't get worse?"

Considering the crew talked a bit about it before letting the trip happen there had to be some discussion about an injury, and is any MLB umpire going to stop a manager when there is even a small hint of an injury. They are umpires not doctors or trainers.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 18, 2009, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiger49 View Post
My understanding is he threw 10 straight balls that weren't even close. I bet the manager came out and told the crew "Something is wrong with my pitcher but he won't tell me. Can I take him out now so it won't get worse?"

Considering the crew talked a bit about it before letting the trip happen there had to be some discussion about an injury, and is any MLB umpire going to stop a manager when there is even a small hint of an injury. They are umpires not doctors or trainers.
I didn't see the team doctor or trainer come out. I'd think if the coach was going to claim an injury, he'd have the team doc come out with him.

Just my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2009, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Armadillo_Blue View Post
The terms refer to the status of the runner upon whom the appeal is being made. If the runner is making an attempt to return to the bag after missing it then a tag must be applied. If the runner is not attempting to return then the action is unrelaxed and the base can be touched and a verbal appeal made.
OBR. This is only true at home plate. If R1 misses second as he rounds it, he can be out on appeal by the fielder simply saying "he missed the base" and then tagging the base regardless if the runner is trying to get back or not. Pro interpretations do not recognize J/R's interp of "relaxed/unrelaxed" for missed base appeals.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 18, 2009, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wa.
Posts: 198
So your implying the rule reads:

"No pitcher may be substituted after one visit if the same batters at bat."

I and apparently the crew working the OP disagree.

The rule means you can't go out and "visit".

If C is yanking him, I wouldn't consider that a visit.

And IMO on the relaxed vs unrelaxed appeal, side on the D, don't ever disadvantage the D for the O error.

EX: R2 base hit, throw to retire R2 at HP swipe tag misses the runner, runner misses the plate and is several feet removed, but attempting to scramble back, mean while BR is digging for 2B. If F2 has his head about him and appeals, I would grant the appeal and hopefully allow an out on the BR at
2nd. Umpires like outs.
__________________
SLAS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tell me somebody saw the Mets game tonight... TussAgee11 Baseball 5 Tue Jun 20, 2006 06:56pm
Balk in Padres game 7-20 Peruvian Baseball 34 Sun Jul 24, 2005 08:47am
Mets-Stros game mattmets Baseball 14 Wed Jun 08, 2005 07:42pm
How to screw up a good game ! bossref Basketball 33 Sun Dec 07, 2003 10:45am
Shot Clock Screw-up In One Point Game Frankie Basketball 8 Mon Feb 19, 2001 11:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1