![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
2 runs score. Both the runner that was on 2nd and the one that was on 3rd. Your OP said there was only one out. The appeal would not be necessary as they already retired the runner at third base. If there were two outs in this sitch, still two runs would score as the appeal now becomes a time play.
__________________
"You are only one call away from controversy" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
No, that statement is not correct. If there were 2 outs at the start of the play, then the appeal of the R1's failure to touch 2B would be a run-nullifying "advantageous apparent 4th out appeal", and no runs would score. Since the R1 was "forced" to 2B at the time of the miss, a proper appeal of his miss is treated as a force out. Since it would be the 3rd out of the half-inning, no runs would score on the play. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
R1 is out on the appeal, but the other runners keep the bases to which they had advanced. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But if 2 outs, it becomes a "force" situation and no runs score? Appreciate clarification. Thanks!
|
|
|||
|
Defense appealed, after R1 thrown out at 3B, that R1 MISSED 2B and therefore was ruled out by appeal.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
bossman,
That's correct. As long as the out on the play and the subsequent appeal out are on two different runners, both outs stand. Since, in the OP the R1 was forced to 2B at the time of the miss, his out is a run-nullifying 3rd out of the half-inning. JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Blue could possibly determine outcome | PeteBooth | Baseball | 14 | Tue May 25, 2004 10:25pm |
| effecting the outcome | Nevadaref | Basketball | 13 | Tue Dec 24, 2002 04:53pm |