![]() |
|
|
|||
Runner slides past bag
Play: R1 and R3, 2 outs. Grounder to F5. He elects to force out R1 at 2nd. His throw pulls F4 off the bag to the left-field side as R1 slides past the bag without touching it. F4 then tags R1 as he attempts to scramble back to the bag. Before the tag, R3 has crossed the plate.
Does R3's run count? Does the axiom, "a base passed is a base touch" apply here? David Emerling Memphis, TN |
|
|||
As you've described the play, I've got a tag on a runner off his base. That's time play, and the run scores.
If the fielder turns around after the play and says, "he missed the base!" or something else that makes this an appeal play, then I've got a missed base appeal on a force play, and the run does not score. As you know, appeals must be unmistakable. As you've described the play, it is not an appeal. I would give the defense until they leave the field to make the appeal.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
That ruling might be based on the now obsolete FED concept of an "accidental appeal." Since the current principle is that appeals must be unmistakable, I would apply the ruling at all levels.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
What is the section number for the 2006 BRD interpretation offered above?
The reason I ask is that sometimes this helpful publication can be kind of tricky to navigate if you don't know just what you're looking for. I couldn't find this in my 2008 edition. Also, one of the sections noted as "removed" in 2008 had something to do with "reinstating a force out" and I'm wondering if that's the one you're referencing. |
|
|||
I only have the 2008 BRD as well....if it helps, I'm pretty sure there's a case play in the MLBUM that I can look up if you're interested...but w/o looking it up, I'm pretty sure a missed base is considered a touched base from an appeal standpoint..
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
R1 slides through B2’s legs – Interference? | Angler | Softball | 3 | Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:49am |
quarterback past the L.o.s | MRD | Football | 8 | Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:50pm |
The turn past 1st | tgranillo | Baseball | 8 | Thu Apr 20, 2006 03:29pm |
Slides in FED | LMan | Baseball | 6 | Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:11pm |
"Three times past the hip" | TwoBits | Softball | 1 | Wed May 01, 2002 12:46pm |