The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2009, 07:27pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
are you guys sure that the accidental appeal still applies to FED?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2009, 07:49pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Regarding FED, I have a situation in the "Rules by Topic" book on page 85 (8.2.2 Sitch E)

The runner misses 2B and, with the ball still in play, attempts to return and touch 2B. The defense simply announces that he missed the base. RULING: Since the runner has initiated action to return, the defense must tag him unless it is a force play, in which case all they would need to do is touch the base with the ball.

In reading this...if the 3rd out of the inning is a force play, no run scores. In FED, this is not a time play. That ruling does not make sense to me...but that is how it reads for FED...I hope others chime in here with citations and/or case plays.

BRD also states that NCAA and OBR could have an advantageous 4th out opportunity here...BRD play 13-10
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again

Last edited by johnnyg08; Mon Apr 13, 2009 at 08:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 06:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
In reading this...if the 3rd out of the inning is a force play, no run scores. In FED, this is not a time play. That ruling does not make sense to me...but that is how it reads for FED...I hope others chime in here with citations and/or case plays.
A runner who passes a base without touching it has acquired the base. That means the force is off for that runner. If a run scores before he is tagged off the base, it's a time play and the run counts.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
A runner who passes a base without touching it has acquired the base. That means the force is off for that runner. If a run scores before he is tagged off the base, it's a time play and the run counts.
I don't like it, but it looks like FED still considers it a force play -- 2-29-3

ART. 3 . . . A force play is a play in which a runner (or two or three runners) loses his right to the base he occupies and is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner. For a given runner, a force play ends as soon as he touches the next base or a following runner is put out at a previous base. When a runner advances beyond a base to which he is forced without touching it, the force play remains.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
When a runner advances beyond a base to which he is forced without touching it, the force play remains.

Since the accidental force play no longer exists, it's hard to tell exactly what that sentence is supposed to cover. It may be a reminder that if the runner misses a base to which he is forced, the appeal will be considered a force out even after a following runner has been put out.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleLeagueBob View Post
I don't like it, but it looks like FED still considers it a force play -- 2-29-3

ART. 3 . . . A force play is a play in which a runner (or two or three runners) loses his right to the base he occupies and is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner. For a given runner, a force play ends as soon as he touches the next base or a following runner is put out at a previous base. When a runner advances beyond a base to which he is forced without touching it, the force play remains.
The force play remains for a missed-base appeal. If they merely tag the runner while he's off the base, that is not a force play.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2009, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The force play remains for a missed-base appeal. If they merely tag the runner while he's off the base, that is not a force play.

MB -

Then I need help w/the following play from the BRD...Play 12-10 (page 18 in the 2009 revision): R1 moving on the pitch, R3, 2 out: B1 punches the pitch to short. F6's only play is at second, not in time. But R1 slides around the base without touching it. As he tries to scramble back, F4 tags him out. (my emphasis). Meanwhile, R3's run scores. Ruling: In FED, the tag of R1 is a force out: The run does not count. In NCAA and OBR: (a) If the defense does not appeal, R3's run scores. (b) If it appeals, R1 becomes a force out for the "fourth" out, and the run does not count.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2009, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleLeagueBob View Post
MB -

Then I need help w/the following play from the BRD...Play 12-10 (page 18 in the 2009 revision): R1 moving on the pitch, R3, 2 out: B1 punches the pitch to short. F6's only play is at second, not in time. But R1 slides around the base without touching it. As he tries to scramble back, F4 tags him out. (my emphasis). Meanwhile, R3's run scores. Ruling: In FED, the tag of R1 is a force out: The run does not count. In NCAA and OBR: (a) If the defense does not appeal, R3's run scores. (b) If it appeals, R1 becomes a force out for the "fourth" out, and the run does not count.
Where is this ruling in the FED case book?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R1 slides through B2’s legs – Interference? Angler Softball 3 Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:49am
quarterback past the L.o.s MRD Football 8 Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:50pm
The turn past 1st tgranillo Baseball 8 Thu Apr 20, 2006 03:29pm
Slides in FED LMan Baseball 6 Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:11pm
"Three times past the hip" TwoBits Softball 1 Wed May 01, 2002 12:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1